We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms not nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nab Cottage

Nab Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nab Cottage
Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9SD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rooms not nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here in May and although the cottage was built in the 1500s it hasn't really retained any of that old charm. The rooms look as though they were renovated in the 1970s and nothing has really been done since. The carpet is old and dusty and the bed linen and towels are old and worn. Nothing matched and just basically not nice.
The rooms either need a complete overhaul to be modernised or need to be stripped back to their old character. The place certainly has some potential but the owners just need to know what to do with it - new fittings, new bathrooms, new linen and a general clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

What a find, a quaint bed and breakfast with a fantastic view of Rydall Water. Very idyllic and steeped in history. A wonderful friendly and welcoming couple make your stay special and personal. Being a historic cottage the rooms are not vast in size but are very comfortable. Breakfast was superb (homemade bread) and it was easy to access Ambleside and Grasmere for evening meals and daytime walks and the lake for a canoe! A great place for those who love the outdoors and for the eco-concious with most produce being organic or locally sourced. Well worth a visit and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Nab Cottage was a real find. Steeped in history, we had a vert comfortable stay.
We were welcomed with complimentary tea/coffee and cake. The room was basic with only a wash basin but had lovely quaint touches and an amazing view.
We booked it as we needed a base for walking and that they accepted dogs at a very reasonable rate.
Breakfast was fabulous, homemade bread and marmalade, vegetarian options and a really varied choice. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly.
Nab Cottage offered advice on walks, drying facilities, waterproofs to use, packed lunches and a canoe to use on Rydal Water if you wished.
All round this was excellent value money and yes we would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We spent a couple of nights here in late February 2009. The guest house is wonderfully situated on the shores of Rydal Water (although a fairly busy road is between the lake and the accommodation). It is easy to walk straight from Nab Cottage to Grasmere, Ambleside and into the glorious hills which is fabulous. We did not have an evening meal (as there are lots of great restaurants in Ambleside, but the breakfasts (vegetarian for us) were pretty good. The room was decidedly 1970's and the en suite was tiny. The shower on the other hand was superb. This is a great spot but the cottage needs some money spending on it to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We are aware that a lot of people love this. Undoubtedly quaint and atmospheric, but the bedroom was small, oppressive and poorly equipped. The ensuite was tiny and archaic. A dog in the room next to us and children to the other side. If you like your privacy and luxury do not stay here! If you don't mind roughing it, the view of the lake is lovely, how could it not be, and it has historic interest. However the hosts were conspicuous in their absence, and we were told on arrival that our room had been mistakenly given to someone else. It is right next to a main road, so not very tranquil. If you were attending one of the workshops, you may find it adequate.

  • Liked — the internet access
  • Disliked — the bedroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nab Cottage

Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Also Known As:
Nab Cottage Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nab Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nab Cottage to your Saves list