We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matthew's Bistro

Matthew's Bistro
Compston Rd., Ambleside, England
015394 31234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Without doubt one of the best places to eat in town food and service was beyond expectation. Matthew was an excellent host. Best red cabbage I have had for very long time

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    127
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a great meal here. We tried the set menu (3 courses for £20). There was a huge variety of dishes on the menu that were included in the offer. Everything we had was beautifully cooked and tasty. Service was great and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate here twice during our week in Ambleside, once choosing off the early evening menu and once off the mid evening menu. Both offer lots of choice and good value for money. The food was delicious and well presented. The service was friendly and welcoming and on the second visit it was my husbands birthday and the staff took the time to wish him a happy birthday, and have a laugh and a joke with us. Other people were in the restaurant while we there with children and the little ones were welcomed as nicely as the adults, which is nice to see! We thoroughly enjoyed both our visits and would definitely return. The salmon course I had on our second visit was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Matthews is a pleasant restaurant and after an excellent evening when we visited town a year ago, we were keen to go back. However, the meal didn't live up the memories. A number of us chose the lamb and we seemed to feel the same about it. Although the portions were very generous, the the meat seemed very greasy and somehow hard to digest. My husband had a big share of it. It wasn't a bad meal, and if you are really hungry portions are great, but overall it didn't live up to expectations and we had better dining experiences in Ambleside over the weekend

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly tasty, don't miss it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

During our lake district trip we went to Matthew's bistro. The owner was very friendly and the food was very tasty with excellent ingredients (finally, carrots with taste !), the lamb henry melts in the mouth, all spot on, AND great price, too, definitely the best value place we've found in Ambleside, so here goes, 5 stars for Matthew !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Bistro also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Matthew's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthew's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.