We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu great evening with my wife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro

Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro
2 St Mary's Lane,, Ambleside LA22 9DG , England
015394 34666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 106 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Continental, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro is tucked away in the backstreets of Ambleside and is a combination of cockt4ils, wines, continental and local bottled beers, soft drinks, together with a wide range of mix and match style food ... it's not exactly tapas in that the portions are bigger than tapas and a little more interesting in variety. It's a fun and fiendish place 4 everyone ... Ideal 4 Individuals, Perfect 4 Parties, Cosy 4 Couples and Fun 4 Families. Live Acoustic guitar most Sundays from 9pm. Open daily from 5pm and last food orders at 10.30pm. Set on two levels, with entrances at both - outside decking area as well as small, compact bar area. Friendly staff, all in all an interestingly, different dining experience - if you do anything ... do a chocolate fondue - be a Devil and try Lucy4!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impromptu great evening with my wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

We thought the restaurant had a good atmosphere suited to its surrounding. Pre evening drinks relaxed the mood, food was good, presented well in good proportions and fairly priced. Post meal cocktail was great. The factor that makes this restaurant well worth a return visit is the welcome we received from the staff and the continued good service throughout the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    63
    33
    28
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pornstar Martini heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

For pre or post-dinner drinks, this is a must! We loved it so much we visited on consecutive nights. Talented mixologists who know how to prepare a first-rate martini, and a cool ambience that's perfect for couples or larger gatherings.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

we really liked the cocktails here and the local beer - we also had nibbles very nice but quite pricey for the amount we got

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“No longer 'hits the spot'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

We have been patrons of the many 'Lucys' places in Ambleside for over 10 years and unfortunately things have not improved and they maybe rely on their past good name too much.
Don't get me wrong, it is a fun and friendly place, with attentive staff (sometimes over attentive when trying to have a private and personal conversation and stopped mid flow at a 'delicate' point), but the limited menu, changes in wines and overall experience now seems lacking in some way to what it used to be.
Although we may go again it would no longer be our first choice as there are so many other places locally experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Although we have visited Ambleside on many an occasion, this was our first visit to Lucy4. The waiter was extremely accommodating and helpful when dealing with my nut allergy. The tapas menu was a welcome change to some of the chain menus available in pubs close by. It was a difficult decision narrowing the choices down as everything sounded delicious. Everything we did order was well presented and full of flavour. The prices were very reasonable given that some of the dishes were very generous. Although we only drank wine, the cocktail menu was extensive with some unusual choices. Our only critiscm would be the lack of card machine which was a minor inconvenience. Overall, a very pleasant experience and a place we will certainly visit again.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.