We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prosecco and olives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro

Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro
2 St Mary's Lane,, Ambleside LA22 9DG , England
015394 34666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Continental, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro is tucked away in the backstreets of Ambleside and is a combination of cockt4ils, wines, continental and local bottled beers, soft drinks, together with a wide range of mix and match style food ... it's not exactly tapas in that the portions are bigger than tapas and a little more interesting in variety. It's a fun and fiendish place 4 everyone ... Ideal 4 Individuals, Perfect 4 Parties, Cosy 4 Couples and Fun 4 Families. Live Acoustic guitar most Sundays from 9pm. Open daily from 5pm and last food orders at 10.30pm. Set on two levels, with entrances at both - outside decking area as well as small, compact bar area. Friendly staff, all in all an interestingly, different dining experience - if you do anything ... do a chocolate fondue - be a Devil and try Lucy4!
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Prosecco and olives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Andy Murray had just won Wimbledon and I felt a glass of fizz was in order so it was nice to find Lucy4 Wine Bar tucked away in a little corner of Ambleside. The staff were friendly and the bar had a nice atmosphere for a lady on her own. Very generous with the measures here, had quite possibly the biggest glass of Prosecco ever plus a bowl of olives and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    30
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I came here in June with a friend and after looking at several restaurants around we decided we liked the menu, we were slightly put off by the downstairs darkness but walked up the small hill to the top bar/restaurant and enjoyed ourselves from the moment we entered. The staff were friendly and really helpful with the ordering (neat idea ticking off what dishes you want to order on a small menu) and with our choice of dishes. Our food arrived after around 15 minuets from ordering and we couldn't believe how much food there was. We ordered 6 dishes which was more than enough for the two of us. The steak was beautiful as were the bbq ribs and lamb stew. We are returning to the area in August and will defiantly be stopping for another great meal!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cup of tea and a cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found the little courtyard seating area tucked away at the back of the restaurant. Very cute except for the loud noise coming from the air conditioning box at the back. A bit distracting. Music was excellent though, and we nearly booked for the following evening but ended up somewhere else. Would like to experience their evening menu and atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Am I invisible???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a recommendation from a friend, on Saturday 27th July we headed to Lucy4 for tapas and cocktails. We entered the building from the downstairs and followed the sign to the 1st floor where apparently we would be greeted!! There was a waiter making cocktails behind the bar so we headed over. He did not even look up and acknowledge our arrival, no "hello" no "welcome" and certainly no smile. We stood there for approx 5 mins and then I approached a waitress who asked me "what exactly I wanted?". At that point we just turned and left. I was appalled that anyone working in restaurants could offer such a lack of greeting and management should definitely be offering more training in this area.
Take your hard earned money somewhere else that deserves it, we did.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything Ok but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant staff, ok food, nice atmosphere. So nothing wrong but nothing wow. I suspect quite a few dishes were cooked here but processed food bought in. Would come again, but there are better things locally.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.