We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality, family run B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wordsworths Guest House

Save Saved
You added Wordsworths Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wordsworths Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, family run B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a spotlessly clean B&B, in the centre of Ambleside. It is family run, with excellent staff. The owners are extremely helpful and genuinely want you to make the best of your stay in Ambleside.
The rooms are large enough and the beds are very comfy. There is an excellent choice of breakfast, but I encourage you to go for the bacon, as it tastes like bacon used to, when I was a kid.
I've stayed in Ambleside on many occasions, but I'm glad I have now found this B&B, as I'll be staying there in the future.
When I read the reviews with the on line company I booked with, I thought, it can't be that good, but it is. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friend and I went to the Lake District for a long weekend We chose to stay at The Wordsworth Guest House in Ambleside. It proved to be a great choice We had a twin room with very comfortable beds the ensuite was spotless The breakfasts were plentiful and we had a full english breakfast which was lovely.Wonderful homely atmosphere I cannot praise the hosts enough they looked after us so well. Thank you Anna and Paul

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be great. Ours was in the front on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed in November 2012 for 5 nights.
Very clean, beautifully decorated guest house run by friendly staff.
We went for the walking in the area and booked a twin room, but as it was a quiet week the landlady gave us two rooms, a room each for no extra charge.
Rooms clean and bright with washbasin in the room and a small but very nice shower/toilet en-suite.Very comfy beds, slept like a log.
Breakfast excellent and served with a friendly smile and a chat, full English or whatever you want, vegetarian options available, plus the usual juices and cereal, yoghurt etc.
Car park round the back is useful.
Ambleside centre 5 mins walk away with lots of nice cafes, restaurants and great shops and things to do and see including a cinema/restaurant combination where you get dinner and a film all in, wonderful.
Would certainly visit here again, great guest house, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Wordsworths Guest House for 3 nights this week. It is absolutely spotlessly clean, we stayed in room 6 which was a suite. It is on the second floor so those who are not too good with stairs should contact the hotel if any assistance will be needed for help with their luggage. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is just a short walk away from the centre of Ambleside, 10 minutes at most, where there are numerous restaurants and bars. We would recommend The Priest Hole, superb steaks and a great atmosphere though in the busy season you would need to book in advance. Luigi's was also good and again you may have to pre book your table in high season. We would highly recommend Wordsworths Guest House and if we are ever in the area again we will definitely return. Thanks to Anna and Paul, and not forgetting Shirley, for their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty little b and b with beautifully decorated rooms - under floor heating a real bonus after a days hike! Breakfast is very yummy. If you book direct with the owners they give you a bottle of wine which is a nice touch. Also the free pases to the spa are a real bonus- best to go late though as it can be very busy. We have been twice and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stay here earlier this month very nice b@b very central to Ambleside to all the shops cafe bars pubs art galleries etc in walking distance to Hayes garden centre the place was very nice staff very good we would definitely stay in this bed and breakfast hotel again well recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Located minutes from the centre of Ambleside and with off street parking, it is a gem. Our double ensuite room was at the top of the house and had a seperate bedroom (family suite) or small sitting room attached. Our first time here but it looked fairly recently refurbished, bright and modern. The shower room had a heated floor! Lovely breakfast room, friendly staff and good breakfast choice. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wordsworths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wordsworths Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wordsworths Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wordsworths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworths Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wordsworths Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.