We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect b and b with great extras!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wordsworths Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wordsworths Guest House to your Saves list
Wordsworths Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect b and b with great extras!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very pretty little b and b with beautifully decorated rooms - under floor heating a real bonus after a days hike! Breakfast is very yummy. If you book direct with the owners they give you a bottle of wine which is a nice touch. Also the free pases to the spa are a real bonus- best to go late though as it can be very busy. We have been twice and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay here earlier this month very nice b@b very central to Ambleside to all the shops cafe bars pubs art galleries etc in walking distance to Hayes garden centre the place was very nice staff very good we would definitely stay in this bed and breakfast hotel again well recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Located minutes from the centre of Ambleside and with off street parking, it is a gem. Our double ensuite room was at the top of the house and had a seperate bedroom (family suite) or small sitting room attached. Our first time here but it looked fairly recently refurbished, bright and modern. The shower room had a heated floor! Lovely breakfast room, friendly staff and good breakfast choice. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Wordsworth I would like to say what kind and considerate people run this guest house. Unfortunately I was ill on arrival and they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. My single room was spotlessly clean and cosy, the breakfast delicious and the location central. I would not hesitate to recommend The Wordsworth to anyone wishing to stay in a lovely B&B in Ambleside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very comfortable and extremely clean room for 3 nights in June. Superb breakfast each day, served by very friendly staff. Easy access to free parking. Wifi a real bonus. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just returned from the lakes stayed here 2 night it is faultless lovely clean room great shower room(heated floor too!)drying room which was a must!

Great breakfast adn very hospitable owners
We will be back and happy to recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

After our hotel letting us down we were offered to stay here. Our room was very spacious and quiet despite overlooking the main road. It was spotless and comfortable. There is an area to park which is rare in ambleside. Breakfast was also tasty. I can't really fault it. Perhaps having our towels changed for the second day would have been nice but it didn't really bother us. Great location too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wordsworths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wordsworths Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wordsworths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wordsworths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworths Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wordsworths Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.