We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kent House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kent House to your Saves list
Kent House
Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0AD , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kirkham, Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend for a nice away. We were greeted and shown around by Sandra who was very polite. The room was absolutely beautiful with a view of the town. It was spacious and catered for all needs with tea/coffee/ hot choc provided plus all essentials in the bathroom from shower cap and shower gel to detail and shaving kits. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable with extra blankets if needed. I was the perfect relaxing experience we needed. When we booked the room it said breakfast was between 8-11 but earlier breakfast could be requested, on arrival we were informed it was between 8-9 with checkout being at 10.30. There was plenty of choice for breakfast from cereals, fruit or a full English breakfast with all local produce. The service was brilliant and the food was even better. With various options on the menu but you could alter to either add or remove things from what you wanted. It was a very pleasant stay. There is parking available if you want, but it is quite steep to get to. However the spaces are there if you choose.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    47
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
139
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Brent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable three night stay at Kent House and were very well looked after by Simon and Sandra (+ Olivia). The position of the B&B is ideal being right in the centre of Ambleside. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with every detail having been thought of. The breakfasts were excellent with everything being cooked to perfection and a fantastic selection. We also very much appreciated the fact that it was a dog friendly B&B. The only slight drawback was the parking which was not easy with a steep drive to negotiate. However, it was very central and free so this certainly wouldn't put us off as we very much hope to return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

just like the post from our good friends we had a fantastic time with simon and his family and he really did make it a family occasion.fantastic place and people and best compliment i can pay is to say i didn't want to come home. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

my husband and i decided to spend new year at ambleside with a couple who we had met there previously, we picked the kent house because it was dog friendly as we both have a dog, we arrived to a very friendly family run guest house, simon told us where to park and gave us our keys to a lovely clean and warm room with a lovely view overlooking the town, central but quiet at the same time,There knowledge about the town was excellent and even offered to watch our dogs as we went out for our new years meal which we excepted. Breakfast was the best ever, melt in your mouth sausage and the nicest blackpudding ive ever tasted, We definitely will be going back to Sandra,s Simon,s and Olivia,s guest house as they made our New Years break in Ambleside a one to remember

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had no trouble finding the accommodation, however we couldn't park unless we executed a difficult reversing manoeuvre. Simon, who's in charge at Kent House, gave us a parking voucher for the car park down the road so that was a good compromise. Still awkward though carrying our bags from the car. To be fair Simon did offer to help if we needed it. The room was very comfortable and spacious, nice and quiet and cosy. Bathroom was snug! Still had everything in it though - well stocked with useful things such as shampoo, shower gel etc. The bed was very comfortable and nice covers on it. Slept well. Not disturbed. Breakfast was in the very light and nicely decorated dining room. Full English breakfast was excellent, with products all locally sourced. Bacon especially good! Simon gave us plenty of time over our meal - no rush! Our hosts were very attentive and knowledgeable about the local area. The restaurant he suggested turned out to be an excellent choice. We'll definitely come back. I'd give it 4.5 out of 5. Just the parking slightly knocks it back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I booked a trip for the Lake District for some walking and a general weekend getaway. However, we managed to book at a time when there was torrential flooding across Cumbria.
We only stayed one night at Kent House, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's very central to the town, but still quiet, and the everything is clean and tidy. The rooms are large, and well decorated, friendly staff... everything was great. Stayed for breakfast in the morning, which was lovely and set us up for the day.

All in all, a very reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Simon and Sandra's B&B is a lovely place to stay, and to explore Ambleside, perched on the side of the hill. Get Simon's tips on how best to negotiate the driveway, otherwise a nearby lower carpark serves well. We got good tips from Simon on the area, from eating out to attractions during our two night stay. Our room and bed were very comfortable. The breakfast room has a lovely outlook and the morning meals were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0AD , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.