We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RunnersRetreat-Lakeland Lodges

Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Runners Retreat Lodge,veiw from lake decking wonderfull
Entrance to Runners Retreat  Lodge situated on the Lake Side
Lounge complete with leather sofa`s T.V. DVD, feature fireplace with electric fire
By wall light
Dining Area with the Lake all around
Lake District
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sue B
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March. Beautiful view of the Lake and it was great to watch the nesting Grebes, even our 4 year old was intrigued! The lodge was very clean, warm and cosy and we wanted for nothing. The site is lovely, very handy for the South Lakes which is quieter than the more popular areas but also not too far from Windermere for more action!
The site is very nice, very clean, the only downsides were the pool being a bit chilly and the lack of local real ales in the bar, a shame as there are plenty of excellent breweries on the doorstep..could also benefit from a play area for the kiddies but there is a beach area very close to the bar which is handy! All in all lovely.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thank you I am pleased the lodge was everything you wanted. I will take your comments on the pool and play area to the management of the leisure village. Would love to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Valerie M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and welcoming lodge in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We initially chose the site because it was easy to get to from the M6 and almost halfway between us and our other family members. The proximity means you can hear the traffic, buit we never found this to be a problem as it was naturally quieter in the evenings and at night. We booked this lodge at short notice and found the owner very friendly and helpful. The lodge was clean and contained everything we could need. The weather was very kind to us, and being able to open the french windows and sit on the deck overlooking the lake each morning was a joy. The wildlife is entertaining - a mother duck came onto the deck a couple of times (minus her complaining brood) and stared at us through the window, expecting tidbits! My husband enjoyed an early swim in the pool each morning, and we had a delicious meal in the onsite pub one evening. We'll definitely be back :)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: having lots of of windows / the deck overlooking the lake
Liked least: the suite was a wee bit soft
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul N
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fitted the bill perfectly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The accomodation was perfect in size and facilities for a family of two adults and two young children (6 & 4). The location is very convenient for exploring the area and the swimming pool and lake were very welcome attractions for the children. Only downside - shame the swimming pool on site is not free to residents. The accomodation was spotlessly clean and well furnished & decorated. We will certainly be back.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2012
Thank you we appreciate you taking the time to review Runners Retreat lodge. We as lodge owners we totally agree with you but we have no control over the leisure village facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$121
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Manager
Maureen Stone (Property Manager Lakeland lodges)
44 01539628006
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 14 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing