We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The view from the house
kitchen and dinning area
Lake District
|
Rental Home – 
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna470
Lilongwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, beautiful area, friendly and helpful owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with 19 other guests in January and loved the place! The house is amazing! The games room was a hit, as were the jacuzzi's and piano room. The house is very spacious and clean and we had nothing we could fault at all! The area is gorgeous! We had a beautifUl walk on the Saturday ending up at The New Inn. The owners were very helpful answering all our questions and returning a left toy and deposit quickly!

I cAnt wait to come back in the summer and would recommend to anyone!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
francis h
Caen
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find! Brilliant house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Bay view is exactly what it says , the views were stunning, the house was fantastic have been going away with my family for years ,this is the best house yet!
Loads of room for kids , plenty of space in kitchen to eat.
Safety deposit refunded very quick.
Can't find a bad thing to say about bay view!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
billfish0...
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend with a group of friends. There were 10 adults and 8 children. We all arrived on the Friday night in really bad weather, but the diresctions were good and we soon got settled. I had a problem with the heating, but I had not seen the instructions taht had been left on the noticeboard. I phoned Jules and got it sorted no problem. We ordered an idian for us all Friday night and it was delivered no problem and good value. The house for the weekend was outstanding for what we wanted, which was a get together. The kids loved all the different rooms and hide and seek was a definate highlight. At no time during the wekend even with 18 people did it feel cramped. We are already looking forward to next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The amount of bedrooms and the view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Duncan S
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nearly a fantastic place but needing TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location for a large family group to get together, the location and views are stunning, but in October it was going to be risky and it was wet for most of the time. The local facilities are very good but again in October things are starting to shut down or reduce their hours.
The house itself is good, the parking is good and the facilities should be good, but there were some serious maintenance issues which should have been sorted before the place was let to such a large group. I think the owners son has been left in charge while he is living abroad and although very pleasant he is not a handyman.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor drainage from the showers and local wildlife (rats)seen outside the bedroom window
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2012
There were serious problems that weren't noticed before the booking. The problems were solved but not in good time or before the end of the booking.

We are now subscribed to a British Gas home care maintenance package for a much better response to any possible maintenance problems that might arise.

We are absolutely determined to provide a consistently excellent standard of service
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Culchethh...
North West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place...we will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Really eccentric house with lots of space and bedrooms!
Views are spectacular as is the nearby area.
Great place for a peaceful retreat or a large party.
Easy contact with manager and deposit quickly refunded.

Odd lights and DVD not working but nothing to detract from a fab house in a fab location.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
enessde
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful large house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Bay view is a lovely house and is ideal for large family gatherings such as ours. The house is quite quirky with interesting furniture and furnishings and some amazingly large and spacious rooms. It could easily accommodate up to 24 people with plenty of public space. There were two cookers and a microwave, two fridges including one which is very large and a large freezer. There were also two large screen TVs. There were actually 11 bedrooms and the two attic rooms slept three each but with no door separating them.

There are great views from the house over Morecambe bay with ever changing moods. Silverdale is a pleasant village with convenient shops. The surrounding area is beautiful with good walks and sightseeing opportunities.

The local pub, the Woodland, is a prize winning pub in an old manor house. It is ten minutes walk from the house. We also liked the Wolfhouse gallery and coffee shop and the Carnforth station exhibition.

Our favourite walk was from the house to Far Arnside and then along the cliff top paths to Arnside via Blackstone point, returning over Arnside Knott and past Arnside tower - Some stunning views.

The agent was efficient and helpful in dealing with minor queries.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation for a large group
Liked least: lack of recycling details and facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mike S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Location for Team Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A group of 12 work colleagues stayed at the house for a Team Building event in the Lake District. We deceided on a house rather than staying at hotels as it not only allowed us to be together as a group in the evenings but it also worked out at a fraction of the cost of 12 rooms in a hotel for 2 nights.

The house itself has many large rooms and whilst there was 12 of us in there, it never seemed cramped or crowded. We could all easily sit in the lounge, but also the upstairs pool room with TV and Sofas was great to get together in the evenings, with amazing views over Morecambe Bay. In addition there were several areas where people who needed to work quietly could do so, without being disturbed by the bigger group.

Ross Accomodation were also very flexible with us for arrival and departure times to fit in with peoples early arrivals, but also for us to have a meeting on the last day before we left. With broadband Internet and the Huge dining table, we were as effective as any meeting room in the office!

The bedroom accomodation was also excellent, once we found all the rooms tucked around the house. Many of the rooms were ensuite, with steam showers and Jacuzzi baths around the house as well.

Outside the gardens were huge with covered areas for the Bar B Que, and also a Table tennis table and a trampoline! We cooked outside both nights we were there even though it was late September, the covered areas giving good shelter. The neighbours were far enough away thet you would not disturb them talking in the garden.

Overall an excellent environment for the event, we shall definitely be recommending it to other colleagues to do the same.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Size and facilities of the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$856
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Timothy R
44 7970401193
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Feb 2012
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing