We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room, poor management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Hull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Hull to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Hull
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Henry Boot Way | Priory Park, Kingston-upon-Hull HU4 7DY, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hull)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Terrible room, poor management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The website said 'big bed' but it was just a standard double, the upper deck room classed as superior was so small and hot, there was a broken fan, they brought another which had to stand at the end of the bed which meant my husband couldn't get out of bed without climbing over me.
It said 'pinchable toiletries' but they were just big bottles of their own brand stuff.
We complained to manager who said he would ring back within a week, well it has now been 2 weeks and he hasn't bothered. We wanted them to just charge for a standard room as we didn't feel superior was worth it. They can't even be bothered to ring back.
One positive note, the food was good for dinner and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't waste money on upper deck. Don't expect a big bed. Expect to be hot and stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin D, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Hull, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Lets Hope the Sun Shines,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am dissapointed that we havent made contact with you regards to the issues mentioned.

I will be making email contact with you direct to discuss.

Thank you,

Nalin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    165
    74
    23
    19
See reviews for
62
123
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overnight business stay. Arrived late and this is where the only criticism can be levelled, on arrival the front desk was vacant. After waiting between 5 and 10 minutes I was still there unattended to. I had to go into the bar area to ask someone who kindly made a brief call of which the content were "can you come out to the front please" - not ideal given they knew I was a late check-in. Very friendly staff. Room clean tidy and décor was recent. The breakfast in the morning was good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Upon arrival to the hotel about 1.30ish the receptionist said our two rooms were ready. Once again my girlie friends and I had a great time just chilling the gym, spa and swimming pool was ace. Room was fab, spotless and very clean evening meal was so yummy and all very well presented. We were really still full from the evening meal but couldn't resist the full English breakfast. We have been here on other occasion and the hotel has always provided us the same high standards that's why we go back.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have been staying here one night a week for around 8 months now: from day 1 I was impressed with the staff. They are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are fairly standard for this type of hotel as is the food: after 8 months you get a bit bored of the menus, though, although they have offered to prepare me anything I fancy instead. Now that's going the extra mile!

The only reason I've given 4 instead of 5 stars, though, is because for a newish hotel there are some clear design faults: the rooms (especially those on the top floor) are stifling and, because of risk of people throwing themselves out of the window (!), the windows only open an inch or so. Fans are provided in most rooms, but that's not quite the same really, as they just move the warm air around! And the loo is uncomfortably close to the wall, with the loo roll holder by your shoulder, if you're a bit on the 'plump' side!!! Also, the breakfast can get a little 'stale', being a buffet which leaves the hot food under those lights to keep it warm.

Room Tip: The rooms on the East side (i.e. not the same side as the Humber Bridge) have two twin beds in, so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. Good deal booked direct with hotel. Standard double room, flat screen tv, free wifi, nice ensuite. Rooms are a good size. We were on third floor with view of Humber Bridge. Good facilities at hotel - spa, gym, pool, Starbucks. Great service in bar, restaurant and reception. All staff friendly and helpful. Delicious buffet breakfast. Good value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here with the family for a visit to Hull. The hotel is very well equiped, tidy and comfortable. The staff are all polite and helpfull and the food is good too.
The indoor pool was a welcome distraction for the kids who absolutely loved it
Would use again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we booked 3 rooms for 2 nights via hotwire for a family wedding last weekend. I had asked for a disabled room for my Mum & Dad and they had arranged for all 3 rooms together on the 2nd floor, Check in was very easy. The rooms were big and the beds really comfy. Mum was overjoyed with the bathroom and shower and could do this safely without any fear of falls. Dad loved his view of the Humber as he has never been to this part of the world. The smellies in the bathroom are bulk bottles of Imperial Leather liquid soap and combined shampoo & shower gel. The reception staff were great when my autistic son managed to screw up the card for the door no fuss. Sadly even though we had brought our swimming things we didn't get chance to use it . We have used the pool before and loved it but simply was too tired. Breakfast was buffet style with various cereals, pastries, toast, croisants and hot english breakfast consisting of Bacon, Sausages, Fried & scrambled eggs, beans, tomatos and mini hash browns. Was brilliant. All in all we'd go again but normally we stay with family when we visit. It was a very special weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Hull

Address: Henry Boot Way | Priory Park, Kingston-upon-Hull HU4 7DY, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Hull 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Hull is minutes from the A63 providing access to the centre of Hull within a 5 minute drive. The port of Hull is just a 15 minute drive of the hotel. Hessle Train Station is 1 mile away and Humberside Airport a 25 minute drive. Nearby attractions include Museum Quarter, Hull Arena and Hull Marina. Village Urban Resort Hull has 116 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hull Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Village Hull Kingston Upon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Hull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.