We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinostar, a disappointing experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience

Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience
28-29 Humber Street | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 1TH, England
01482 320424
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dinostar, a disappointing experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I took my 3 year old daughter to Dinostar after visiting The Deep aquarium. I didn't go in with high expectations, which was a good thing otherwise I would have been disappointed. We only spent about 20 minutes inside, the museum is very dated and run down, in fact, it looks like it has been around since the time of the dinosaurs. There isn't a much of interest to see and many of the interactive exhibits were not working.
I would only recommend that you visit Dinostar if your children are very into dinosaurs and you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    10
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for dino mad kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited here after going to the deep. It is a small museum so you should expect to spend no longer than an hour here. Lots of interactive things to do with a few largish replica dinosaur models. My little boy who is dinosaur mad loved it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely museum for little ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Although small this museum is fantastic the children loved it. It's not expensive and does not take long to get around bit is a great place to take the children.y grandson is mad on dinosaurs and absolutely loved this place would definitely reccomend it .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An interesting place if you like dinosaurs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I visited with my husband and two children (aged 4 and 1). Wasn't sure what to expect as reviews on here seemed quite mixed. However I think it's definitely worth a visit and the children loved it. Yes the building is old, a little worn and could do with some TLC, but seriously children don't notice this, do they?! My children loved pressing the buttons, looking for the different dinosaurs and playing in the sand.

One recommendation would be for some new felt tips and crayons upstairs as some of these were quite old. Also some of the little vehicles in the play area could do with being replaced as they were broken.

We paid £3 per adult, £1.50 child and stayed around an hour. I think it's reasonable value and we found it an interesting place to visit. If we don't support independent places like this then we'll end up losing them which would be a shame. Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Boys loved it, a little dusty but hey it's dinosaurs not princesses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice way to spend an hour with your children. The building is a little run down but this maybe due to its age and them not being able to renovate etc.( a lot of original features still intact) you have to consider that if it wasn't for the business owner it would be just another old empty warehouse prime for vandals. This museum is full of facts on dinosaurs displayed on large colourful poster with plenty of diagrams and supported with fossils and cast models . I especially liked the guess what it is boxes watching my boys faces as they reached inside teehee. upstairs there is an area for the children to be creative, they can even dig for Dino bones or draw a picture and write about their experience. All in all I enjoyed my experience here yes it's a little dusty but for £1.50 you have to look past that. On looking through the photos I have taken my boys look happy and couldn't wait to tell their daddy what they had seen. That to me is the sign of a good trip. I will visit again. Must mention as well how friendly and helpful the gentleman at the cash desk was.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.