We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bridge that put modern Hull on the map” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Humber Bridge

The Humber Bridge
Ferriby Road | HU13 0JG, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
01482-647161
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The bridge once held the world record as the longest single span suspension bridge. More than 100,000 vehicles use the bridge each week.
Hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The bridge that put modern Hull on the map”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I was a sixth former all those years ago at a Hull school I used to be vaguely interested when I saw sections of the bridge being floated down the river, as I made my way to school on the train.

I hated the Bridge so much when I was running over it earlier this year in a half marathon albeit for charity ( the road seemed to slant upwards for ever!), due to a reckless promise to my eldest son, which he, unfortunately, had remembered, and I had hoped to forget) - but what a beautiful, iconic structure it is in fact - many others appear to agree, because, whenever we cross it to visit folks in Lincolnshire, the sidewalks are packed with walkers, cyclists and runners. They used to sing ' will they ever bridge the Humber?' - the answer now is emphatically yes!! - and in great style!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    155
    47
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull, East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wherever I travel as soon as I see Humber bridge I know I am home.
An iconic bridge that should have its debt wiped to allow for free travel - just my opinion!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great piece of engineering , using the bridge more know the toll is £1.50. fantastic views up the river

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As I live in Hull the Humber Bridge isn't far for us to travel to.. The viewing area below the bridge is lovely. You can walk under the main road via an underpass, which opens out to a lovely country park. Its full of trails to follow plus a picnic area round a manmade lake. Its very peaceful.
When you come back out of the park you can walk the shoreline with its excellent view of our magnificent bridge. When we were younger my dad used to take us to see it been build at all the various stages. Then when it was complete we took our first trip over it. We thought we were in the clouds, we were amazed. I know we no longer have the largest suspension bridge in the WORLD but we are up the amongst the largest in the world......

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When driving near it you can feel how huge it is. Drive over it, and you'll get great views! Humber bridge is amazing from any point!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Humber Bridge also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Humber Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Humber Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.