We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearson Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pearson Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pearson Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 - 72 Pearson Park | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was up in the hull area over the christmas holiday period and needed a hotel for one a night during my visit to see friends and family in the area. The plan was to meet a couple of friends at the Bar in the Hotel and then go out for dinner. I found the Room clean, spacious, warm (freezing outside at the time), well equipped, and with a very comfortable bed. When my friends arrived we went to the bar, and ordered a round of drinks, then grabbed a table by the roaring fireplace. To cut a long story short, we just stayed there all night, was so cosy by the fire, bar prices weren't bad, it had a great atmosphere overlooking the park, we could have been anywhere! felt more like the cotswolds than central hull. The staff were great too and the food is decent quality, will definitely stay there again. Pleasantly surprised...

Room Tip: Try the Honeymoon suite for a touch of added luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
policebooks, Director of Sales at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Many thanks for an up-to-date review. The hotel had been closed for 6 months after going into liquidation. Much time and money later we managed to open for Christmas and New Year. Bookings are beginning to be made and the old clients are returning.
The two open fires are very cosy this time of the year. In summer we have a long terrace overlooking the Park. The best of both worlds. Zachariah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    13
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

As I live within Pearson Park, I can now tell you that it has been open one week. I had a chat with the new owner, father Stewart and son James.
Carol the bar manager also very friendly served us a bottle of chardonnay £9.00. Good to see that the bar prices are now competitive. They have opened up the fire place and a roaring log fire welcomed us into the bar area.
Can't report on hotel accommodation, but have been told that's it's work in progress.
Have booked Sunday lunch here and will review later.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
policebooks, Director of Sales at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you and it came as quite a surprise that we had about 40 people for Christmas day and about 70 on New Years Eve. It was very busy getting ready in such a short time but our new team were excellent and we managed not to miss the festive period. Now looking forward to Valentines night, mothers day and the 'summer' Zachariah.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'm basing my rating on the food and the service only. Sadly the rooms cannot be recommended as the hotel is in dire need of a refurb in many if not most of it's rooms.

We stayed on a lovely sunny day and we made the most of the outdoor patio for dinner and drinks as there was no need to go anywhere else. The patio furniture was tatty plastic and in need of replacement. The food for dinner as well as the service however cannot be praised highly enough. I thoroughly enjoyed dinner which I thought was very well priced, as were the drinks.

The worst part of the stay came when I decided it was time to go to bed. I wanted to read before sleeping and was let down by two bedside lamps that used power savers and were not bright enough to read by. The man in the room next door had a hacking cough and the soundproofing was little to non existent. I do believe that I was also above a function as live music suddenly burst through the floor followed by a good round of applause. Thanks heavens it didn't go on late!

The bed was higher at the foot than the head, and also had not been made well as the duvet cover did not fit the duvet. The TV was stuck on the shopping channel and would not change, which was made worse by the lack of a decent reading light.

I could go on but will keep a long story short. The Service from all the staff and food is truly terrific! But these are let down by a serious lack of investment in the rooms. My recommendation is to eat there, have a few drinks, then stay somewhere else (at least until the required investment is made). For the room price you could easily stay at a premier Inn or perhaps the new Holiday Inn Express.

I really hope this hotel gets the refit it needs, as it will be a great independent hotel when it does!

Room Tip: room 12 is the best room I saw, It's the honeymoon suite and has the 4 poster. You do not want r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
A full response is not possible as the hotel went into administration on June 25th and was closed on June 27th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very old fashioned and not at all pro active. Posters depicting forthcoming attractions were not displayed at eye level. Staff although reasonably helkpful and friendly did not appear in abundance. Prices of liquors and beers were astronomic even by large Hotel standards and this is a small hotel. no encouragement for visitors to mremain on site.

Very old and creaking at the seams, in need of TLC and re-furbishment. Can't possibly carry on for much longer giving this inadequate service. Overall very poorly managed. Food adequate only.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
A comprehensive management response is unavailable as the hotel is now in administration and has been closed since June 27th 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful old building however a bit 'tired' in the room decor and bathrooms. Some rooms have a bath only and some a shower only. It is situated looking over Pearson Park in HU7 so ideal for the city, shopping and the railway station. The food is great. The breakfasts are either a really good selection of continental or to order cooked (I go for the cooked). The bar area is verwy welcoming and there are many frequent guests which lead to a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are so warming and I would totally recommend however not for people who like the modern decor of the new chains of hotels. However 'tired' the decor is, it is nearly always full so it shows that not only is it good value for money but it also gives you the warmth of a fabulous atmosphere

Room Tip: If you want a bath please request as not in all rooms. All rooms are quiet as not near a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you are going to visit Hull, want to enjoy the museums, enjoy the city shopping or the night life in town or down Princess Avenue and want to be just a stones throw away from it all but at the same time find yourself in an oasis of calm and quiet, with views of ancient oaks and open parkland then there really is only one choice.

Quite apart from its location, the Pearson park offers something that money cannot always buy, a genuine warmth and willingness to go the extra mile a sense of genuine pleasure that you are staying with them and a cleintele that share those old fashioned values: respect, community good food, a nice quiet bar and a good sleep. Perfect

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed in the hotel a few weeks ago whilst on a rugby trip. The hotel is peaceful and set in a calm environment overlooking Pearson park. For its price the hotel is generally in the range of the over main stays for such an occasion like the old grey mare and the others on cott road but in my opinion surpasses them on all levels. The breakfast is complementary and of a good standard all be it only served between half 8 and half 9.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zachariahpearson, Owner at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Pearson Park Hotel Hull - it is always helpful to receive genuine feedback about this Hull hotel and the the service we provide. I am grateful for the time and trouble you took in posting your comments.

We compete with the plethora of "budget" hotels now available and do so with a tiny marketing budget - we cannot afford larger than life comedians and TV advertising! It is gratifying to know that we can register highly with guests once they find us - thanks once again - and we'll look at extending week-end breakfast times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearson Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearson Park Hotel

Address: 70 - 72 Pearson Park | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Class:2 star — Pearson Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pearson Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearson Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearson Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.