We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built for purpose from the ground up - excellent aquarium as a result” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deep

The Deep
Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 4DP, England
01482 381000
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Built for purpose from the ground up - excellent aquarium as a result”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Now visited twice in the last few years. Been to many similar establishments - the London Aquarium, Sea Life Centres in Oban, Scarborough and Birmingham, Deep Sea World, Macduff Marine Aquarium......

But in one sentence: what makes The Deep so good is that it was purpose built.
There is a real sense of progression from one area to the next - this makes it a particularly good experience for children (mid-primary age upwards).

Overall, it is not enormous, and whilst other aquariums may boast greater diversity and wow-factor features (such as the tunnel at Deep Sea World), The Deep has one VERY big stand-out attraction....

The giant marine tropical (open) tank is a delight - haven't come across another place in the UK with anything on such a scale. My wife and I keep a small marine tropical aquarium at home, so have first hand experience of how difficult it is to establish and maintain one - top marks to The Deep for doing a fantastic job here.
Anyone interested in keeping marine tropicals at home would be well advised to pay a visit here just to see this exhibit!

Any negatives?

Perhaps just one - it's a shame that the very large (and relatively quiet) car park is separately chargeable.

I understand that, being close to the centre of Hull, it would not be feasible for the parking to be free, as people would take the mick.
But why not, say, add another pound to the price of the car parking ticket - but also give a discount of £2 off the price of admission when you present a car park ticket receipt for the same day? My local city centre supermarket does something similar and it works brilliantly.

Overall though, very much worth the trip to Hull - admittedly, somewhere I would have no cause to visit were it not for the fact I have family close by.

Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    536
    237
    92
    66
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I visit Sea Life centres or marine parks wherever I go and this one was certainly worth a visit. There were long queues as it was Saturday morning but we got in within 15 minutes.

What they had in terms of exhibits were good like the White Tip sharks but there was a lot of padding with video screens rather than more real life exhibits.

Overall I would give it 6 out of 10.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Day Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited The Deep and we absolutley loved it! It was so interesting! There were a variety of people there of all ages and it's a great day out for everyone. Also, the gift shop is quite reasonably priced! Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good attraction, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Deep is more than just an aquarium as it has some serious educational aspects as well, looking at biodiversity, the impact of pollution and global warming and so on. Having said that, most of those were well over the heads of our six and three year olds, who just enjoyed seeing the huge tanks from various perspectives, the play area, the interactive displays and the shop and café.

It is not particularly cheap but a quick internet search revealed a kids go free voucher, and there are also savings to be made if you book online. And of course if you are reasonably local or a regular visitor to Hull you can convert your tickets into an annual pass at no extra cost, as is more and more often the case at major attractions nowadays (London Transport Museum, Eureka Halifax etc.). We spent around two hours going through but with older children who want to read more of the information you could spend longer. Café busy and service a bit slow but food good and, for a visitor attraction catering outlet, reasonable value. Shop had a good range of differently-priced items, only disappointment being that one of the flippers/wings had come off the soft toy penguin we bought for our little one before we had even got on the train home.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Work in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The deep is a aquarium / museum like attraction. It's made to inform about the living seas which makes up for most of the earth. Also pointing out that Earth isn't the right name for our planet since water is covering most of our planet.

Aquarium wise it isn't really big but besides the aquarium it tells a lot about the oceans in exhibitions.

There's a lot of hands on in the deep. Especially made for kids.

When your just look at the aquariums and not participate it takes about a hour to go through the deep. But if you do participate, eat at the indoor picknick area where your allowed to eat your own food and also get some snacks and drinks you can be here for about three hours.

Entrance price is good and they offer unlimited Acces for a year if you fill out a form at the reception.

The work in progress is the fact they are making a penguin area. Kind of curious how that's going to be, they promise that its going to be special.

We have been here before a few years ago. This year with our five month old baby. He really is curious about the fish and he's really looking at then moving in the aquariums.

On a busy day waiting for the elevator through the aquarium can take some time. But I think it's the only way out when your not able to go by stairs with the strawler or wheelchair.

But I might be wrong about that.

We like it and will return in the future. The building itself can't be missed near the riverside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deep also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.