We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth another visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Italian Bistro

Ciao Italian Bistro
119 Chanterlands Avenue, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 3TG, England
01482 342454
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hull, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth another visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went with some friends recently, didn't have any Prosecco but they did let us have the Champagne for the same price. I ordered the carbonara which was a bit dry for my liking but ok. My friends had chicken and the italian sausage pasta which both said were very good, we also ordered a very garlicky garlic bread however it was rolled so thin it tasted like a crisp rather than bread so I didn't like that. Also we asked for extra garlic on the bread but it just appeared smothered in butter so more butter than garlic. I would go again and try something different because the atmosphere was super cosy and they didn't rush us to finish and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    36
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bloomin' fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went for a birthday meal in a large group, the restauraunt was packed with other customers and there were only 3 members of staff serving, which meant that many people were waiting a good 15 mins after the first lot of people got their food. The staff were friendly and attentive and the portions were huge and great value for money, would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Buzz and service...Poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Met for a friend's birthday party with sole use of upstairs room (approx 30 people). Downstairs dining area also busy. waiting staff smiling,friendly and attentive but not Italian. Surprised we were asked to choose from full menu as we were a large party.Waited 90 minutes for food to arrive and pizza was partially cooked and filling not as described on the menu. We were not charged for our food which was appreciated and fellow diners seemed to have problems with their pasta dishes. Judging by past comments our experience was probably a 'one-off' and the restaurant was very busy. For us the quality of the food is paramount and we would not rush back here based on our experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best eatery a round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

fantastic food ,brilliant atmosphere,great service,a great night for family and friends couples ,The best time to go was early evening and you got some really great offers this made it affordable even if your taking the kids a long.But if you dont fancy the restaurant you could always get a takeaway from their pizza shop in willerby {next to hot pole pub} thats very nice as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times now.! Brilliant atmosphere, perfectly lit bistro! You can tell the staff love what they do and are passionate about what they are selling. I have never had a better fillet steak. The offers they have at the minute are unreal. The mixed grill that is normally £16 now priced at £9.95 is absolutely amazing, there are no words!! Then they have bogof on pizza and pasta. You definately get more than what u pay for. Perfect food and perfect service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Italian Bistro also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Ciao Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.