We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Dreadful accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Haven Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Haven Inn to your Saves list
The Haven Inn
Ferry Road | Barrow Haven, Kingston-upon-Hull DN19 7EX, England (Formerly Minotel )   |  
Hotel amenities
Río Grande, Tierra del Fuego, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Dreadful accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A great place for a meal. Do not stay there, especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

The restaurant and bar were really good and friendly, but the rooms left a great deal to be desired.

The wall were paper thin. I could hear 'every noise' from the couple next door!

Very disappointing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place always serves good quality food at a great price. They have themed nights, some being steak, burger and Sunday carvery. All are top quality and home made, it's a nice quiet place to get away from it all and you'll walk away feeling happy you came.

Much better than the flute and whistle at barnetby.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived looking forward to a comfortable Saturday night in a country inn but was it?.
Check in was fast and friendly. Our bedroom was spotless but very small. We had reserved an en suite £60/night room and had assumed that this meant with a bathroom but no it only came with a small shower with an instantaneous water heater which only produced either dangerously hot or cold water regardles of fine tuning of the temperature control.
The toilet emptied through a VERY macerator as did the next door bedroom's. Worse still the next room's macerator went off every half hour or so throughout the night.

Reading in bed was impossible as my bedside light had a black lampshade enclosing a low wattage bulb.

We hadn't realised that breakfast finished at 9.00 am on a Sunday morning - there was no information about this that we saw in our room but we did just get to the dining room in time. Not sure if the staff were making a point but they Hoovered round us while we were eating. Breakfast was fine except that my wife ordered bacon and egg and was served with bacon only. This was soon rectfied then we had to ask for marmalade.

Was it worth £60 - No. £35-£40 would have been about right. I know village pubs are having a difficult time of it but a little more attention to detail wouldn't go amiss here. Heaven help establishments like this if Premier Inn (the Tesco of hotels) ever sets up shop nearby.

Room Tip: If booking an en suite room make sure a) that it does not have a macerator and that there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

A fairly remote setting, yet we arrived on a wet and windswept Monday evening to find the car park packed. The bar had a huge open fire burning and was crowded with customers eating or drinking. The food and wine on offer were of good quality and were very reasonably priced. Service was first rate. The bedroom was a good size and fairly well furnished but one or two fittings were in need of attention. The bathroom and shower were adequate. Most of the other guests appeared to be in the area on business of a practical or commercial nature and probably have the hotel earmarked as a friendly and informal stop over where they know they will eat well. Local walks on footpaths by the Humber are easily accessed and very worthwhile. The owners are very hospitable and run a hotel where the atmosphere is one to relish.

  • Liked — the friendly service
  • Disliked — the noisy plumbing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

A friend and I stayed hear on the third night of a cycling trip around Lincolnshire. The Hotel Location is at the end of a lane at a point where a Ferry used to ply across the Humber to Hull before the Bridge. Now a small port with a large woodyard.
The first thing we found was a large Bar and Restaurant with a small hotel reception desk. This was not staffed however by the time we had downed a well earnt pint we were checked in and shown to our upstairs rooms. Mine was a small twin room, ideal for one, and my friends a small double room. There was a TV and Tea making facilities (plus buscuits.)
The room was reasonably clean but with old, marked, worne carpet. the en-suite shower was powerful but more like being in a caravan than a hotel. For a lone man looking for bed it was fine. Not, I would suggest for a couple looking for a nice hotel room.
The Hotel Restaurant was fully booked as Thursday Night is Steak Night. Our friendly Host assured us that we would be fed and true to his word we both partook of a 10oz steak, very good. A couple of drinks later we went to our rooms. To be fair, no noise from the bar but the security light going on and off and the bar cooler running all night was a bit of an annoyance.
Breakfast was excellent.
It is difficult to rate the Haven Inn simply because I am not sure who would want to use it. It is like a very old Travel Inn that is nowhere near any travel route. I would not stay here with a family but it is fine for a nights kip or as a base for say Golfing or some other local activity. They do have drivers staying before they go on to the local docks and clearly have a great reputation in the local area for food.

  • Liked — Good value for money.
  • Disliked — With a little work it could have been made into a very good single room.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Inn

Address: Ferry Road | Barrow Haven, Kingston-upon-Hull DN19 7EX, England (Formerly Minotel )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.