We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hull Maritime Museum

Hull Maritime Museum
Queen Victoria Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3DX, England
01482 300 300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“FREE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was free when i went. Well worth a look around and well worth taking the kids as its informative and a good way to waste a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Interesting museum and the staff were friendly and welcoming. It gives a good insight into the seafaring history of Hull.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The musuem is situated in a beautiful old building, its very interesting explains all about whaleing amongst other things, the staff were very friendly and I found it very welcoming.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hull's museums.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I decided to visit Hull's museums something I have not done for quite a while. Hull has a history with the sea and with ships and all the cargoes that was carried in those ships from slaves to fish. So I chose the Maritime museum because it is situated right in the city centre and this place deals with some of Hull's earliest associations with the sea, whale hunting. Now if you are not keen on bones or skeletons then maybe, this isn't for you for as soon as you enter the exhibition areas you are confronted by a massive skeleton of a whale.   But don't let this put you off as there are many facinating facts and artifacts about the rough life these sailors endured.

The history of these hunters because that is what they were dates back many centuries and Hull was at the forefront of the trade. You can trace their journey and the lives to the coldest regions of the earth to hunt their pray. Paintings and artifacts adorn the museum but I was slightly annoyed that with the city trying to put itself over as a tourist attraction there was no effort to accomodate the foreign tounge. I asked about this and appently it a subject that is often mentioned but nothing gets done to rectify the situation, Hull, get your act together.   There is video of both the whalers and fishermen of Hull, both now long gone and the fishing side, not exactly a glamorous subject is it although was just as important to Hull with all its associated industries like shipbuilding, with electrical, joinery, communications and all the onshore backup, you get the picture.

That is all in the past but thankfully not forgotten in this marvelous building and a lovely building it most certainly is. There are people there to answer your questions but the visuals are quite informative, yes I am local but as is the way with locals you don't tend to bother, glad I did, just wished they catered for the tourist a bit more.x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well set out and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Always interested in Maritime history we decided to have a tour of the Museum and were not disapointed with lots to see and experience. Just hope that places like this can stay open reminding us of our rich cultural history Thanks to the helpful staff as well

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hull Maritime Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hull Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hull Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.