We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Hotel, Hull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hull Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
1 review
“Mercure Hotel, Hull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband for a night away here at the end of July for his birthday, the reception staff were very polite upon arrival, confirmed I'd already booked & paid for a double room, my paperwork stated double room. Got to the room & it was very clean & the decor was fresh. The room was very small and the view from the window was several other windows! but I'd got the room for about £40.00 on booking.com & thought you get what you pay for! But the bed wasn't a double it was a three quarter bed, pushed against the wall (no where else to put it due to te smallness if the room!) there was no air con facility & due to where the room was facing & laid out we got no fresh air through from the window, it was a horrible nights sleep! I let hubby take the wall side with it being his birthday & I did my best to not fall out the bed all night! When we went to use the bath the next day it didn't work & the pull up device didn't move so we had to have a shower! The shower had wasn't flexible & wasn't in a reasonable position for getting a shower so that was a nightmare trying to shower!!

So I don't feel my experience was the best, I've had this before where you get a cheap room & your put in a crap room! I should of known better, but the least I expected was a double bed!

The hotel has lots of character & that is lovely to see. X

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am disappointed to read that you stay wasn't entirely satisfactory. I have taken your feedback on board. I would urge you to contact me directly upon you next stay in order for me personally to look after your arrangements. If there is anything I can help you with, please contact me.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    193
    124
    52
    29
See reviews for
70
244
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst doing a show at The KC. Lovely old building with lots of character and Victorian charm. The room was comfortable and clean, but even though I asked for a quiet room, I could hear the traffic noise as soon as I walked in. This was because the window was open (and propped up with a bit of old skirting as the sash cords were broken). I closed it and tried the aircon, but that stopped after a few seconds and flashed all its lights, so was presumably faulty.

The breakfast was good and the view of the station out of the window was rather unusual and different.

When we came to check out, there was a long queue and not enough staff, so it took over 15 minutes. The staff were remarkably cheerful, considering how stressed they probably were at the time.

For anyone staying here who likes Indian food, the Cinnamon restaurant across the road is very good.

Would I come back? Possibly - if I got a room facing the rear of the building and if the aircon worked.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, away from the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. Please accept my apologies for the fact that your stay wasn't satisfactory. I have taken note of the issues you describe and I will follow this up with the team members. I am pleased that you have taken the time to bring these issues to my attention. I do hope that this will not stop you returning to the hotel on a future visit to Hull.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked a package deal for Valentines Day for myself and my boyfriend and were promised a room upgrade, champagne and chocolates in the room, with dinner and breakfast included, and a late check-out. In terms of the food, it was lovely, dinner and breakfast were great. The room however wasn't upgraded which was disappointing. In the morning as we were enjoying our room service breakfast in bed the cleaner came to clean our room, and rudely told us that we were supposed to have checked out by this time. We told her that we had a late check-out arranged and no apology was made, which is ultimately why i've only rated 3*. I'm a huge believer in good customer service and this tainted our stay slightly, along with not getting a room upgrade when promised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. Please accept my apologies for the fact that your stay wasn't satisfactory. I have taken note of the issues you describe and I will follow this up with the team members. I am pleased that you have taken the time to bring these issues to my attention. I do hope that this will not stop you returning to the hotel on a future visit to Hull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis. The staff are really friendly and helpfully. One of the best things about this hotel is that they do a great room service menu. Another good thing it that they have free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the staff were really friendly and helpful. I am delighted that you also enjoy our room seervice menu at the hotel. I will passed on your comments to the chef and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards Mercure Royal Hotel - Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at the hotel whicj was located at the train station. Very welcoming and friendly. The gay flag was flying to celebrate gay pride 2013. Brilliant, felt totally safe and welcomed.

If I had 1 negative to say it would be the need for more tea/coffee/milk in the rooms and to use proper cafetieres to filter the coffee in the restaurant. But still more than happy with the stay !

Thankyou and see you all again !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that your stay was welcoming and friendly. I am sorry that there were not enough beverage refreshments in your room, however we would have gladly replemished them for you had you called reception. I have passed on your comments about the coffee in the Restaurant to the Restaurant Manager and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards Mercure Royal Hotel - Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

very nice stay, central location, with good staff,free car parking,This is a true find in hull, a hotel with lots of character,located right at the train station,with easy access, nice breakfast in a relaxed setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving a kind review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish. The team works hard to deliver excellent customer service, and I am pleased that the hotel has impressed you. I have passed on your comments to my team. I hope I am able to welcome you again soon.
regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Riding, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is not difficult to see why this hotel achieves its very variable ratings. It is a venerable old building fronting right up to a busy, noisy main road and integral with the station at the rear - as originally intended. This means that rooms at the front are subject to a lot of noise, and if the air-conditioning fails or is inadequate (not unusual according to previous reports) the only solution is to open the double glazed windows and let in the noise with the fresh air. It is no co-incidence that the top 3 ranked hotels in Hull all have quiet, air-conditioned rooms. It may be expensive. but Mercure must sort out the aircon of this property.
On the other hand the in-house restaurant is excellent and on its own would rate 5 stars!. The dinner choice is good, the meals are tasty and well presented, portions are plentiful and include a mix of vegetables. Probably as good a hotel meal as you can get anywhere & for a reasonable price. Rooms are obviously variable in size but our Premier room was well kitted out with comfortable beds.
Many hotel nowadays clearly make their money from weddings and other events but they neglect the comfort of their staying guests at their peril.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am disappointed to read that you stay wasn't entirely satisfactory. However I was pleased to read that your meal in the hotel was tasty and well presented. I am pleased to confirm we are starting the extensive repairs to the aircon in the hotel next week. The hussle and bussle of the city centre will always be around my hotel, however, I would urge you to contact me directly upon you next stay in order for me personally to look after your arrangements. If there is anything I can help you with, please contact me.
Regards,
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hull Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hull Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.