We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Steak!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brimble's

Brimble's
74 Princes Avenue, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 3QJ, England
+44 1482 348282
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Food and cocktails. Situated on Princes Avenue and housed in a lovely three storey building facing the tree lined Marlborough Avenue. Intimate dining, private parties, group bookings, business bookings. A varied menu with something for everyone including excellent vegetarian options. We take quality ingredients, cook them with passion and serve them with flair all in lovely surroundings. You will be made very welcome. Come and say hello. Always advisable to book but if you are on Princes Avenue, looking for a great place to eat, pop in and we will find you a table if we possibly can.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steak!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We dined here on Saturday night, it was our first visit to Brimbles steakhouse and we enjoyed the food immensely. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the lemon cheesecake was superb.
Only grievance was that our empty glasses were not taken away so we were putting them on the table next to us to free up space and that a large party of EXTREMELY LOUD AND OBNOXIOUS people were shouting continuously through our meal which was rather annoying, especially as it was a special occasion for us and this spoilt the mood for us....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    40
    25
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovey venue, fab service and steaks Cooke to perfection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on saturday. The whole experience from start to finish was lovely. The restaurant feels small and intimate and we were served by a few different staff all of which were exceptional and so polite.
We both decided on steak, myself having the ribeye and my partner having a filet. Both were cooked to perfection and tasted amazing.
The wine list was not extensive but the wine we chose was one of the cheaper ones and for the price was lovely which was a very pleasant surprise.
Our total bill came to just over £60 and that was for a bread, oil and olives to start, a filet and ribeye steak which both came with sauces, chips and onion rings, a bottle of wine and two liquor coffees which I think is amazing value for the quality of food and wine.
We will definitely be back and Im pleased to say Brimbles has become one of our favourite restaurants.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, Great night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Took my wife to Brimbles for her birthday and had a brilliant meal. We both got steaks, i had ribeye and Heidi had sirloin. both were cooked to perfection and were excellent quality meat. We also shared two starters, the fishcakes and the fried brie which were both excellent. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the service was top notch. Cant wait to go back, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

had a family get together here and had a really pleasent meal, steak were very good, the atmosphere was very good, catered well for our large party. Will be back again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Maybe I went on a bad night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot believe after reading these reviews that I went to the same restaurant as everyone else! The overall rating has no bearing on my experience.

We dine out regularly at various establishments ranging from average restaurants to Michelin star establishments, and enjoy many of them regardless of their rating or prestige.

I dined here on Saturday 9th March 2013 with a group of 10 people. After the previous contributors reviews I find it difficult to understand the unbelievable standards that we experienced. We were shown to our table in the upstairs dining area, and waited an unusually long time before we were asked if we wished to order drinks. Time stretched even further before anyone took our food orders. The starters were acceptable, with a modicum of taste. However, the main courses, most of which were simple steaks, took so long to arrive that we were on the point of complaining just as the waiter began to put the plates down. It soon became apparent that the kitchen was totally at a loss as there were only 2 meals out of the 7 that arrived that had any residue of heat left, and these were not too hot. Consequently we did complain and they were taken away, apologetically. My wife had ordered a medium rare fillet steak, with double dipped fries, all of which arrived cold. When it was taken away and returned, it had been replaced with a medium to well-done sirloin! The remainder of the meals that were returned (and not everyone even got a meal!),were mainly unsatisfactory and we asked to see the manager. He apologised profusely when he was made aware of our complaint, and, to his credit, he agreed not to charge for any of the food. While we were paying. It was apparent that other people were also complaining about service.

Maybe we suffered from new staff problems or some other reason, but it was a very disappointing evening, especially for the people who didn’t even get served with a main course! I will think very carefully before returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh O, Owner at Brimble's, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm sorry for the problems you had on Saturday night. As I explained, this was only our second night of opening as Brimble's Steakhouse; I freely admit that you didn't have the experience we would ordinarily provide, which I attempted to compensate for by not charging any of your party of 12 guests for their meals.

You can most certainly expect a better experience should you decide to visit us again in the future, last weekend we can only put down to teething troubles, apologise for and assure you it won't happen again!

Josh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimble's also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Wawne, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Brimble's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brimble's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.