We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here at least once a month. It's fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hull - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Hull - City Center to your Saves list
Campanile Hull - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beverley Road | (Entrance on Norfolk Street), Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 9AN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Bridlington UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Come here at least once a month. It's fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We come here at least once a month.
The rooms are always spotless & lovely clean bedding with crisp white towels
Read other reviews & don't understand some people.
This hotel is a budget hotel & to be honest is worth every penny.
The staff have always been great & nothing too much trouble.
Breakfast is nice hot & fresh
Check out is midday which we find useful

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    66
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
20
47
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
1,048 helpful votes 1,048 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. An ideal location for sightseeing in Hull. Car park is free so leave the car and enjoy the city.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. A good value, no frills hotel at a very cheap price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When the Campanile opened in Hull it was one of the few (budget) hotels in the city centre. It has since been usurped by a huge Travelodge across the road as well as an ibis and a Premier Inn nearby too. It might be a little tired and in need of a bit of TLC, nevertheless, the Campinile is pet-friendly and offers excellent value for a room-only rate.
Arriving on a stinkingly wet Friday night we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, Anne. Our room was ground-floor roadside, but as there was a greensward directly in front, it was perfect for letting the dogs have a bit of grass to sniff. Having arrived more tired and later than expected, not to mention the prevailing weather conditions, we decided to forego finding a local bistro and opted to eat in the hotel's restaurant. Anne was the chef-du-jour as well as the receptionist and barmaid, so while we enjoyed an aperitif in the lounge area, Anne cooked up a storm and served us a hearty plateful of fish & chips and gammon steak as good if not better than any other pub grub we've eaten. It was just what we needed and the dogs enjoyed the leftovers!
The room was clean and functional; ok, the remote control for the TV didn't work and neither did the hair-dryer, but those are hardly deal-breakers. The king bed was a bit on the springy side but comfortable with extra pillows. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower and there were plenty of towels.
Anne was on hand again at breakfast time although she was assisted by a breakfast cook and our breakfast was very tasty.
I cannot fault the service we received and if you just need a bed for the night, there are a lot of worst places to stay than the Campanile Hull.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to traffic noise, request an upstairs courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Awful, strange place. Not accommodating with food requests. wanted an egg on a steak, with no chips - low carb diet. large receptionist lady said no, cant be done. They do Gammon and egg. they break an egg onto a frying pan and grill the gammon. how hard is it to break an egg into frying pan and grill a steak instead. I even offered to pay for the egg. what a joke.
Never staying at a campanile again. The bed is great if you are 5 stone. you don't sink in it. The mattress is around 20 years old and sprung base. I had to move mattress onto floor to get a good night sleep. Good job room is large and this can be done. my advice - go sleep at Premier inn across the road, you will be met with professional and helpful staff. Avoid !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel today after a two night stay and I do not understand the negative reviews. We paid £34.00 per night for room only and we were not disappointed.The rooms are basic but clean (cleaners came in daily and changed towels etc) and tidy , plenty of storage space for a short break and a lovely bathroom with heater. The staff were all friendly and helpful especially the blond lady on reception.It is free parking at the hotel and check out not until noon. It is ideally situated for the City Centre with the Old Town, Marina and docks all within easy walking distance. Do not be put off by negative reviews!!! Try it and be pleasantly surprised. We did not eat in the restaurant but the meals were competitively priced.

Room Tip: Top floor, overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my second experience in a Campanile hotel. I booked up after being pleasantly surprised last month in the Campanile Bradford whilst on business. This one in Hull is a very different story.

In the style of an American Motel with rooms opening directly onto the carpark/upper level walkways the reception/bar area were in a separate building which closed at 11pm. Unfortunately there was no vending machines either so if you wanted any form of drink or snack after this time you have to plan ahead and take your own.

After finishing work I went to the bar for a quiet beer which cost £5.15 (as I found out the next day as I checked out). The duty manager of whom I can't remember the name though she was a larger lady with brown hair was reasonably pleasant until you asked her for anything. Everything seemed to be a chore for her. She spent the majority of the time sitting down behind the bar and was reading a newspaper when I arrived. She also complained to me about another member of staff!
I observed another guest ask her for 2 coffees and she told the lady that she could go into the restaurant area herself and get them from the machine. The manager's words were "I'll let you but you must tell me what you got so I can add them to your bill!".

The room was small, dated and had dirty walls and carpet. I unfortunately had a room facing the main road which was noisy all night (Thursday). I had little sleep and felt tired and irritable when I woke for my reheated "Full English breakfast" which was overpriced at £8.75. There was a continental option but the fruit looked like it had been in the trays for about a week and even then there was hardly any of it.

When I came to check out the same duty manager was having her breakfast and had to get up and come to the bar to print out my bill and take payment. She told me that "as soon as she sits down for her breakfast all hell breaks loose" Very slight overstatement!

The hotel boasts FREE Wifi "In all areas" though they don't mention how intermittent it was. I have a new Ipad for work and I couldn't use it on the internet in my room.

Although this experience has not put me off Campanile Hotels I would NEVER stay in this one again and wish I had read Trip Advisor before booking.

Location was good for the city though as I drove out I couldn't help but think I would have been better off in the Travelodge over the road!

Room Tip: Rooms near the carpark side are quieter and if they aren't available you'll probably just ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the campanile Saturday 17th August, cheap enough price, room is tired but clean but good for the price.
On arrival though we were checked in by the manager. I cannot remember her name but she was a voluptuous lady with long brown hair. We got there, she was friendly enough in a fashion but she found the job a chore. She huffed and puffed while checking us in, got mad with the computer and huffed and puffed again, countered on when someone rang to make a bookin as it seemed an inconvenience to her and then a couple Came in for food and she told them there would be a 45 minute wait. They said that was fine and sat down! She then huffed and puffed again and said to us that she had told them 45 mins hoping that they wouldn't want to wait and would go elsewhere!!
Don't get me wrong, she was nice enough to us but her customer service skills had a lot to be desired

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Hull - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hull - City Center

Address: Beverley Road | (Entrance on Norfolk Street), Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 9AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hull - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Hull - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Hull - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.