We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent locals pub serving good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Horse

The Flying Horse
Cage Lane, Smarden TN27 8QD, England
01233 770 432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Smarden
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Devon UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent locals pub serving good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was among the places recommended by our B&B hosts. We called in for a snack but were too full for a full meal, the soup of the day was excellent. Encouraged we returned the next night. I had a curry and my partner had a chicken dish both excellent as were the sweets. Well kept Spitfire, lovely log fire and a good crowd of locals, just my idea of how a village pub should be.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What can I say apart from this place is amazing, the food is second to none and the staff are extremely friendly, from the moment you walk in the door to the moment you leave you will you will be made to feel welcome!! With out a doubt I will be going back again. Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Proper pub with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

If roaring fires and proper local ales are your need then this pub hits the spot. It's also a super venue in a village we like very much. We were surprised to be the only diners at a weekend and had great service . The food was a standard choice with large portions. I would have liked to see a greater choice of starters and wouldn't mind fewer mains. I also feel that a tired laminated menu says not too much seasonal change. That said the specials were interesting and we all cleaned our plates. Good value overall.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is one of the best places I've eaten in smarden. The food is Brill and I was invited by a firend to go. GOOD choice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good food well presented and at a reasonable price. Log fire and nice atmosphere. Highly recommended. We will return, next week in fact. Pretty village and next to the church. Oh and a cat that thinks its a dog. What more could you want.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Horse also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.