We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Romden Road, Smarden TN27 8RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Smarden B&B and Inns
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“LOVED ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I were due to visit a wildlife sanctuary in Kent and needed somewhere to stay for a few nights, as we were travelling from near Glasgow, Scotland. We asked the sanctuary for a list of possible accommodation options which they duly provided, some of which had websites we could look at. On looking at the site for Snap Mill, we knew straight away we'd found where to stay. The pictures really don't do the place justice.

When we arrived, we were greeted very warmly by the owners Doreen and Ken. We were given a brief tour of our accommodation, which was a brightly decorated bedroom on the ground floor, spacious guest bathroom, and large bright conservatory area. We were told to treat Snap Mill like our own home and we were given a key for ease of access whenever Doreen and Ken may not be home. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. When we came back from our days out, we were often met by them as we came in and spent a good while chatting about what we'd all been up to and debating the day's news. The conversations were always good natured and flowed easily.

We cannot praise Snap Mill highly enough. We stayed for only three nights but went away wishing we had booked even just one more! Everything was perfect - the bedroom was lovely and comfortable, and we got a great sleep each time. The full English breakfast cooked by Ken was just AMAZING - we'd go back just for that!! All the food is organic and sourced very locally - the eggs came from the farm next door! The cottage dates in parts back 600 years or so and with that comes the beautiful rustic charm you'd expect from a country house. And of course we can't forget the two most important residents - four month old kittens Indie and Marlon, who were just adorable and very nearly found themselves being packed in my suitcase when we were leaving!

When it was time for us to leave, Doreen and Ken both insisted that we take our time and there was no rush, and so we left at a time that was comfortable for everyone. After handing our key back they both hugged us which was great - how often do you get that at a Travelodge?! They are one of the friendliest couples we have met, they provide everything their guests could ever need and we really do hope to stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crepy-en-Valois, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at Snap Mill last week, while exploring Kent.
The place is amazing, hidden in the country-side, perfect to relax and enjoy.
No noise at night, perfect to get a good sleep.
The hosts are amazing, wonderful people. They made us feel as if we were staying at our aunt and oncle's place for the weekend.
The food was delicious, especially their full-english breakfast (after which you don't have to eat the entire day), as well as their home-made bread and jams.
They use many local kentish organic products, and this makes their breakfasts thus good.
Too bad we stayed only two nights. We hope we will return one day, if we have the opportunity to go back to Kent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Snapmill as we were looking for a local BnB near to where my friend was getting married, but when we arrived we wished we could just stay at the BnB the whole time! Beautiful house, stunning garden with pond full of wildlife. Quiet and peaceful, it felt like we had completely got away and just wanted to stay longer!

Great breakfasts too and the owners went out of their way to help us get around the area.

We hope to go back again

Sarah and Dudley

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This was a wonderful place to stay while visiting Kent. The house is picturesque, the rooms delightful and comfortable, the hosts and the service are absolutely lovely. It is near the charming Kent village of Pluckley.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

This is a beautiful listed and lovingly cared for home with a charming cottage garden overlooking a pretty pond. While there you can really appreciate the gentle beauty of the Kent countryside. it is a fun, relaxing, and rejuvenating stay. I wished i could have lingered longer. The owners are fun, helpful, and make you feel instantly at home. The full english breakfast is like a cookout..no need for lunch--using lots of fresh,local and organic ingredients. I definitely will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Romden Road, Smarden TN27 8RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Smarden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smarden
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast Smarden, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.