We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take way of choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raj Pavilion

Raj Pavilion
20 Grove Hill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN11RZ, England
+44 1892 533153
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Award winning Raj Pavilion is among Tunbridge Wells most popular restaurants, loved by locals (and what better recommendation is there?!) A spacious, smart dining room, spread over two levels and staffed by knowledgeable, attentive waiters.The food on offer is a mix of both the traditional Indian restaurant dishes well known and loved by all and fantastic house specials which include plenty of unusual dishes to surprise even the most jaded of restaurant goers. There is generally a good buzz to the restaurant throughout the week.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take way of choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Its simple this is the only Indian we now use in Tunbridge Wells. The menu has a lot more depth and imagination than the standard high street Indian restaurant and the staff are fabulous. Due to the demands of a small child we do not eat out as often as we would like, but even when we have a take away its a joy collecting it. A great manager and staff make you feel very welcome.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    17
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This used to be our favourite Tunbridge Wells curry house - great food, great service and great ambience. However, our last 2 visits plus one takeaway service have left us searching for a new go-to curry house. After a poor experience both eat-in and takeaway, we decided these may just have been blips and gave them another chance - sadly we left disappointed again. Firstly, the lighting - it used to be subdued, creating a nice relaxed atmosphere. On our last visit, the lighting was glaring and too bright - not conducive to a leisurely meal, but perhaps that was deliberate to turn the tables quicker. Service was slow and inattentive, drinks orders were forgotten and the place just seemed understaffed. This led to the problem with the food. Whilst it tasted fine, it had obviously been left in the kitchen too long and arrived with a skin on top of all of the curries. We were relieved to eventually escape - the management definitely need a wake-up call.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajpavilion, Manager at Raj Pavilion, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. In regard to the lighting we have recently redecorated & updated tablecloths (now black). Our customers have asked that the lighting be lifted a little to allow them to be able to read the menus, we have discussed with others who felt the lighting was appropriate, we will however re-visit this decision.

As I understand you came in on a Friday and we were very busy, we are sorry you did not receive a better waiting experience. We do endeavour to provide a quality service and meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Strange atmosphere, stale popadoms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited the above Restaurant on a Wednesday evening, we found a strange atmosphere with a few language problems.
The Campari Soda was an apology for the price.We sent the Popadoms back , the second time they were just as cold and stale.
The Starter and Main Course were acceptable .The Restaurant claimed three awards in 2011, standards must have gone down since then

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best curries we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

There are many Indian food restaurants and takeaways near to where we live, but finding a good one - i.e., somewhere that serves authentic Indian cuisine to a high standard and doesn't taste like it's been poured out of a jar - can be difficult. So we have shopped around lately.

We decided to try the Raj Pavillion because of the reputation it has built in being one of the top Indian restaurants in the country, and in winning awards.

We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and definitely one of the best curries we have had. I have scanned previous reviews and find it surprising that anyone could find serious fault with the food served here, unless they do not know a good curry when they taste one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We go there regularly because the food is always fresh and good (not fatty, greasy curry like many places) and the service is always very friendly. We like to go there early to avoid the "late curry crowd", which is recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Pavilion also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Raj Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raj Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.