We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalybeate Spring

The Chalybeate Spring
The Pantiles, Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Picturesque and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I confess! I live here but will be as balanced as I can.
The spring is noted for its spring waters. The strength of flavour varies considerably with rainfall. After several weeks of hot weather the flavour will be strengthening.
But what does it taste of?
Can be subjective. But have you ever eaten fresh peas from the pod, without cooking? If so, you're about there.
Unlike other waters, this is not volcanic and therefore tastes very different to those in Bath.
Located at one end of the Pantiles, this backs onto the Imperial Pharmacy.
There is much to see and do on and in the Pantiles, sadly Tunbridge Wells or some 'quango' feels disinclined to properly promote all that it could be. What is here is great. Plenty of tea rooms, restaurants, including Indian. There's a jazz and music venue at the far end and mid well during the Summer months there is live music, often jazz, but many other styles, on the band stand.
Research the best days to come depending on your tastes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“water of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

brilliant pourers always full of information. the water takes some getting used to but you have to remember it's good for you and has been for 400 years

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The 'Dipper' was dressed in historical costume and told us all about the history of the spring. It was very interesting and you should make the £1 'donation' and try the water but be warned it tastes like iron!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not quite a Chablis, but recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our 'dipper' - whose name I think is Marcus - was on hand at the Chalybeate Spring to give us a potted history of Tunbridge Wells and pour us a glass (£1) of spring water. Please be advised that one does not drink this water to savour its delicate flavour. It can taste as if you have been sucking on a silver coin; you may even think it is the foulest thing ever to pass your lips. I had a full glass of it, drank it right down to the last drop, but only because I was drinking it for the very thing that makes it taste the way it does - the iron. Marcus will show you a glass of spring water that has been left to stand and you will see a layer of red sediment at the bottom, this is the iron that is present in the water. I'd be quite happy to have a glass of this every day to ensure a good supply of iron in my blood. The aftertaste lasts a while but is not unpleasant as it leaves your mouth feeling moist and clean-tasting. Royal Tunbridge Wells is a lovely place to amble around, there are some quirky buildings to photograph and interesting shops to pop into and browse. I am fairly susceptible to atmosphere and on looking up and down The Pantiles, I could well imagine the gentlemen in their tricorn hats and breeches, the ladies in their long dresses, broad-brimmed hats and powdered wigs, all of them strolling along, nodding to their acquaintances and delighting in being 'seen' at one of the most prestigious venues of 17th century England. Just nearby is the Church of King Charles the Martyr, also worth a visit. Beautiful; ornate but unpretentious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting for a minute or two!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Historically interesting but not much to look at. Background information as to how it led to Tunbridge Wells' existence is worth reading if passing but not worth a day out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalybeate Spring also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Chalybeate Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalybeate Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.