We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chafford Arms

The Chafford Arms
Spring Hill, Fordcombe, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0SA, England
+44 (0)1892 740267
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

U dont go to this pub to chat to the landlord (yes he is a little grumpy bless him :) ) u go to enjoy the great food and sit outside in the lovely garden with views across the kent countryside towards penshurst. On a lovely sunny day it is best garden for miles not crowded and evening sun! Try the ploughmans always delicious!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was very disappointed with this pub as I had heard good reviews on it but it is not a very welcoming pub at all as we walked in the landlord didn't say hello or welcome just gave us a look as if we had walked into his front room !

Not a wide choice of food on the menu....but what we did have was very nice but definitely will not go back for another visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Once again have had a brilliant meal ,cant fault it , able to order smaller
portions which is so much better for me,leaves room for the delicious puddings especially
the Gypsy Tart ,best I have tasted for years !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Returned here for the 2nd time in 2014 for a birthday treat and once again we were delighted with our meals and the service. We ordered 2 x half portions of food , one from the specials board and one from the main menu and these were ample for the smaller appetite ( + we wanted room for a dessert ! ). The salad that came with the chilli was delicious and nice to see local Speldhurst sausages used in the Bangers and Mash meal. Rounded off with the wonderful Gypsy tart for dessert ~ a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

my only complaint the portions are very generous.leaving little room for the delicious puddings.they do a half roast which is a realy good idea

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chafford Arms also viewed

Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Chafford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chafford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.