We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, refined, pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smart, refined, pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is a characterful 18th-century building pleasantly situated in its own big garden on the edge of Tunbridge Wells Common. 10 minutes to the Pantiles, 15 mins to the Assembly Rooms, if you walk across the Common. Ample parking. Big room overlooking the Common with a bathroom bigger than the previous night's hotel room. Pleasantly decorated and well equipped. Minimal outside noise. Spa has extensive gym and pool. Staff are smartly dressed and friendly. A classy hotel where we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    125
    58
    26
    18
See reviews for
54
118
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my mum as it was her 90th birthday.
Hotel is quiet with beautiful grounds although too cold to enjoy them this spring!
Food is superb and worth going back there for a lunch booking as we don't live too far away.
There is a lovely ground gloor room which is wheelchair accessible. Huge bathroom, but - I cannot stand or walk at all and the toilet was a bit low and the grab rail prevented an easy sideways transfer. A lot of money has obviously been spent on this room but sadly I couldn't stay there again because of the poor design for a guest using a wheelchair.
For anyone without this requirement it is lovely, very restful and has a comfortable, traditiional feel.

Room Tip: View of garden would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Spa for a wedding and a lovely time was had by all.

As we were only there did 1 night, we didn't use the spa facility's.
our room was on the first floor and was a nice size room, but the view was of the main roofs! If I designed this room I would frost the windows.
The bed was a little soft for my liking, but this is probably due to its age.
The room itself was a little cold and thd AC only cooled the room and not heat.

The food was very good as was the breakfast in the morning( it's the best scrambled egg I've ever tasted)

The staff were friendly if not a little overworked and tired.

If I stayed again would like to use the spa, facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My elderly Mum and I have stayed at the Spa several times since January this year and we cannot fault it. The decor throughout is traditional which might not appeal to everyone especially those who seek a modern minimalist look, but we love it. The staff are helpful and friendly and seem to take pride in what they do. The service generally is great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything we have needed ( you do need to hunt for the hairdryer though and in some rooms the air conditioning control isn't always obvious - it's where to point the controller that can be perplexing as in some cases it is behind the grille). The food in the dining room is always freshly cooked and the service there has been excellent. The Restaurant Manager and his delightful Romanian lady deputy have greeted us as though we are old friends. We would have no hesitation at staying here again or in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently held our wedding reception at the Spa Hotel and were thoroughly happy with every aspect of the experience. The staff were very helpful and accommodating in the run up to the event and on the day everything went off without a single problem. The food was devine with many of our guests commenting on how much they enjoyed it.

We stayed the night in the hotel as well and had the African themed Four Poster room which was very spacious and well appointed.

All in all, I can't really fault the Spa Hotel, they made our special day very special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked very late in day so at a significantly discounted price making stay excellent value, Greeted by friendly helpful girl on reception, Had a standard room but it had clearly been done up relatively recently, and included aircon. Very spacious, clean and nicely furnished in style appropriate for building. Modern, nice bathroom. Room provided all comforts could want. Mattress too hard for our liking but that's just a matter of taste and apart from that it was a very pleasant comfortable stay, Didn't eat in hotel in evening or for breakfast so can't comment on food, but the various dining areas were quite inviting. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel our greeting consisted of room number is ... end of corridor 1st floor. No welcome information or anything. Room was lovely, large, clean and well provided if rather hot. Booked the hotel restaurant fior a meal which was great although the restaurant service was appalling!! No attention,, we had to pour our own bubbles, were not asked if everything was ok with the meal, etc. The courses were brought out in quick succession and when asked to delay the desert we were responded to with 'we have told the kitchen now!'
We were booked in for spa treatments the next day but when enquiring about the availability of robes and slippers were told they only had a few and these were booked for the people on spa packages although we advised we were some of these people the young assistant insisted we couldnt have any. Upon asking at the hotel reception however a very nice lady said she would arrange some to be sent ot our rooms the next morning.
Breakfast the next day was awful, cold food that had been left in servers, dry pastries and Frosties that ran out in April 2012! When this was brought to the attention of the waiter who barely spoke English nothing was done about this. I had to ask for a drink 3 times before a small pot of stewed tea arrived. Upon getting to the spa the same receptionist then acknowledged she had made a mistake and there were robes after all, too late now that we had arranged others. The spa treatments were expensive, a bit amatuerish and I felt rushed. the rooms do not reflect those on the website. The relaxation room had all of 5 chairs which was nowhere near enough for the guests, so at times there was nowehere to sit and relax between treatments. Overall a disappointing stay I had expected better from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.