We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised throughout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well organised throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sadly the reason for my visit on this occasion was for a close family members wake.... Never the best of events, we hired the York suite a very pleasant room with its own bar and ample space for the 60 + guests we had, we had Pre ordered afternoon tea for our guests, I have to say this was very nicely done with finger sandwiches, plain and fruit scones with jam and clotted cream and a selection of cakes and tartlets with well made tea & coffee.. I think it's only fair to say I have had afternoon tea in a few very nice venues where they couldn't get it right or two people let alone the task we set the spa of 60+ we also had the bar open which was contained within the room and served by a very organised polite member of the staff ( well done Charlie ) events like this can often be quite rushed and disorganised, the spa got it spot on right we were given space and the right level of service to make it perfect.

I have stayed in the hotel on a few occasions as well and always found the rooms to be well appointed, clean and comfortable I really would recommend this hotel for events and the odd nights sleep when in Tunbridge Wells.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    96
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
43
95
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Reception staff cheerful and helpful. Nasty smell in common areas - stale and nursing home aroma. Room and en suite average with comfy bed. Food very good quality and tasty. Spa wet area nothing more than a back garden sized pool (water very cold) and no hot tub or jac at all - In a Spa hotel? Superb setting with pretty grounds - probably worth exploring in warmer months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, and never had a bad stay. The review below is based on my last visit, but applies equally to ALL visits.
Double room booked for a one night business trip. Room was well presented and spacious with nice little extras in the tea/coffee cupboard and bathroom. Bed was really comfy - best nights sleep I've had for a while whilst on a business trip. Loved the power shower as well. Thought I was going to get blasted into the adjoining room with the force. Awesome!
Ate in the hotel lounge next to the fireplace (not lit though) in a cozy chair with a good book. Service was good, with courses coming at the right intervals.
The Spa is well appointed with a good sized pool and gym. I use this quite regularly when I stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Fancying a bit of a winter cheer up I booked the spa hotel in Tunbridge Wells. The complimentary swimming pool and sauna was a big draw and didn't disappoint.
Staff and service was excellent, food great (we didn't try the more formal looking Chandelier Restaurant). The room was slightly dated but that really is the only minor grumble. The shower was amazing!
The swimming pool wasn't huge but big enough an rarely busy, finished off with a steam and sauna.
We paid a rate of 89 per room per night which we felt was great value for a superb hotel a 5 min drive from tunbridge wells. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely hotel in this lovely spa town with great staff who were helpful and polite at all times. A short walk to the Pantiles area although on a decline so beware for the walk back up. Beautiful dining rooms, excellent breakfast and anyone in the area should take advantage of their lunchtime offer which is excellent value and in such a lovely setting. Made use of the Spa, it was OK, just a little tired looking but it didn't spoil my massage. My bed was a little hard for my liking and the staff made no fuss of adding a top layer which made a big difference. Overall a lovely hotel and with its refurbished rooms and public areas it is a little gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were provided with a family room at the top of the hotel which was ideal for our needs. While a little dated, it was very spacious, clean, quiet and fun. We loved & would recommend room 301! The dining room itself is large and grand but a great experience for the children and the staff could not have been kinder and any more attentive. The children's menu choices was relatively extensive and the food for mum and dad was also 1st class although maybe the 3 course only option could be offered as 2 or 3 courses. Breakfast quality and choice was excellent. Front of desk were friendly and helpful. The pool while not huge, is adequate and there is even a gym for those with more time and energy! All round we would definitely recommend for families with small children and will be planning another visit sometime soon. The charges for the room were discounted as it was January and this definitely helped with the overall cost and hence value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if children are young enough to share and sleep on z beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited the Spa Hotel as my husband's Christmas Work do was held here. The Hotel itself is beautful inside, with lovely decor. There is a large, inviting foyer with comfortable big arm chairs and music playing. Guests are seated enjoying cream teas and coffee. The staff are friendly and informative and our hotel room was just perfect for a one night stay. The double room was very large with a huge bathroom and all the toiletries you could need. I could have stayed in the shower all evening and the double bed was heavenly!! The Christmas Do itself was in a stunning room with it's own bar and dance floor. The 3 course meal was enjoyable considering the numbers catered for and the main bar in the hotel remained open after the Christmas Party had finished. Breakfast the following morning was varied and set you up for the day, although I was disappointed with the level of service. I enjoyed a cream tea in the afternoon which was a delight, the sandwiches, scones and pastries would could rival some of the best. I did not get a chance to enjoy the swimming pool, but that is one for next time. Oh and with the pantiles just a 10minute walk away The Spa Hotel is perfectly located for a trip to the shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.