We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffin

Tiffin
5 Castle Street, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1XJ, England (Formerly Cafe Divine)
01892 533988
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Better than your average cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here during a shopping trip in town and went here based on the high ranking in Tripadvisor for a Saturday lunchtime.

We entered and although there was a table downstairs, we were offered a table upstairs, we were slightly surprised by the upstairs as it was a bit more of a lounge with sofas rather than the cafe downstairs but looking at the website it appears it can be used for small functions, events etc. e.g. We noticed some lampshades that seemed out of place, only finding out when inspecting them at the other end of the room that they were for sale.

I ordered a chicken salad and a chai and my partner ordered a mocha and ploughman's. I liked my salad but my partner was not overwhelmed with the ploughman's. She wasn't convinced that the bread was the right bread and for a place that celebrates using local produce, the pickle could have been local but appeared to be regular Branston.

The service was good, the place was clean and it was a good cafe in a quiet part of town.

Overall, it was good, but we have been to better (and worse) cafe's in town, probably have to go back and try the cake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We happened upon this little cafe whilst in tunbridge wells for a weekend away. The food was excellent - The cooked breakfast was obviously made with good quality food and was presented very nicely. The upstairs looks to be quite sweet too to hang out to have a coffee for an afternoon. Very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town by far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely fresh sandwiches prepared to order, tasty light brunches and friendly service coupled with THE best coffee for miles. Ideal for a lunch stop whilst shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay little cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Slightly overpriced for what you get and the service is very touch and go - some days great and others a complete shambles. They do a mean bacon sandwich though!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Macchiato and a song!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

First trip to Tunbridge Wells. 23 hairdressers!! How can one town have so many hairdressers and so many coffee shops. Still Tiffin stands out. A lovely macchiato and delicious Dutch apple cake. I am an expert on both.

However I particularly liked the young woman who hummed and sang (quietly) to all the songs. - very sweet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffin also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Tiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.