We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so contented!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio - CLOSED

Palio
84-86 Grosvenor Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2AS, England
01892 515558
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As one of the few independent Italian restaurants in Tunbridge Wells we aim to serve authentic Italian food, produced in house, using the freshest and best quality ingredients, locally sourced, when possible, in a clean and friendly environment, to make it a "bella" experience
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just so contented!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Regularly eat at this superb restaurant and it is always our first meal when returning to TW from Cyprus, we have never been anything other than totally satisfied. The warm greeting when arriving through to the fab food and service makes for 'utter contentment'. Just love it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, family run Italian. Affordable Italian Cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I often come here for business lunches. This restaurant has evolved into a reliable Italian that I rank as my first choice in Tunbridge Wells. Yes, I like Signor Franco, but it's very different and priced accordingly. For great quality, affordable Italian cuisine served by warm and enthusiastic staff, this is the place. There are well known favourites and some lesser known dishes.
If you want authentic Italian and you are in Tunbridge Wells, you cannot go far wrong with this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
“Definitely the best in Tunbridge Wells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Without a doubt this restaurant is the best in the area. The food is reasonably priced and I have the greatest respect for the chef, as being fussy about my steaks, he is one of the only chefs that can cook my steak blue but not cold (an art)!!

Renzo and his team make you very welcome and look to ensure you have a great dining experience.

All the food is prepared and cooked on site which can be tell by the taste. Not hot oven food prepared off site like many of the restaurants nowadays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently good and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Tunbridge Wells. The food is generally excellent and the service is second to none. I have been to this restaurant approximately 10-15 times and only had one occasion when my steak was overdone and they couldn't have been more apologetic, they served both myself and my partner a fresh meal so we could eat together. I find the prices very reasonable for TW and they have numerous evening and lunch time offer. The fish soup is amazing and the scallop and king prawn main course was lovely, rich and buttery. Their wild mushroom ravioli is also pretty good. All in all a great, genuine Italian restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top quality proper Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visit Palio monthly and what a treat- fantastic food at a fair price - try chef's specials - you won't get this sort of innovative food in town - ignore that previous idiot who compared to Carluccios- enough said!!

The veal T-Bone is to die for. Wine list superb and on occasions includes some great priced specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio also viewed

Gravesend, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.