We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve
Sandwich Road, Cliffsend, Ramsgate CT12 5JB, England
01622 662012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 attractions in Ramsgate
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
finglesham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sandwich bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Unspolit area with lots of birds and wildlife you may even spot a seal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok if you dont mind being attacked by a dog”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed over the weekend. Went out for a walk on the Sunday morning with my son and dog. Was attacked by A staffordshire bull terrier and then was threatened by the dogs owner. My dog was attacked, I and my son were bitten by the dog and the local police
did nothing!!!!!!

If you have a dog or children AVOID at all cost!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I have been going to this nature reserve for many many years and it is a wonderful clean and very well kept facility.
A great place to see birds, spend a day with the family, or just walk the dog.
The car park is in two parts and one part overlooks Pegwell Bay and the Stour estuary.
It's a very sunny place for a picnic in the summer, just off the road between Ramsgate and Sandwich.
There is usualy a tea stall there and the Sportsman Public house is just up the road and they do great meals.
The cost is cheap and is taken on trust via a ticket machine.
sadly some people do not pay but the parking fee i expext goes toward the upkeep of the reserve.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great nature reserve, shame about the parking charge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

A minor niggle about the parking charge but do they really need to charge it?

This reserve is great for taking the dog out and has the Viking Coastal Trail running through it which we often use to cycle. The reserve looks out onto Pegwell Bay and also Sandwich flats. It has different sections to it, there are some cattle in reserves, plus a nature walk and a pond. You can walk out of the reserve round the petrol station and up to the Viking Ship at Pegwell Bay to go and explore the old Hovercraft landing area, now overgrown and deserted but it has a certain charm and bleakness which is attractive.

There is a little cafe up at the top near the Viking ship called the Saddle Sore Cafe and also a tea bar type of thing in the car park for the nature reserve.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great for twitchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

we spent a good few hours here walking around the reserve twitching. It was fanatastic. the area is well manitained and paths well marked. Being winter there was loads of wading birds for us to admire, although sadly we didnt see the seals as the tide was wrong. The only downside was the toilets which were rather dirty...but they were open so that was a plus! the people who walk there regularly are very friendly and chatty, making you feel welcome. The actual reserve doesnt take long to walk around, but you can then walk around the beach the other way towards Ramsgate, where you can get really close to the birds.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandwich and Pegwell Bay National Nature Reserve to your Saves list