We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* Help yourself roast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery Thanet

Toby Carvery Thanet
Westwood Cross, New Haine Road | Westwood, Ramsgate CT12 5AD, England (Formerly Toby Carvery)
+44 1843 868567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 148 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Thanet. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Margate’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4* Help yourself roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

This restaurant food is really good value for money. You can have a choice of four different meats: pork, beef, turkey or gammon . When you have selected your meat which is served to you ,you then help yourself to all sorts of vegetables. Go back for more if required! Reasonably priced but a couple of pounds dearer on a Sunday. Can be VERY busy on a Sunday and of course at Christmas.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    74
    30
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“like a Sunday Roast any day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The only negative thing I can say is that due to its popularity you often have to wait for a table and then queue for the Carvery, especially weekends. But you can walk in without booking first, I have often gone for a meal late when I,m too tired to cook and its a pleasure. The food is good, staff friendly and if you feel like a change you don't have to go for the carvery. I often have salmon and its just as good. If you want the desert as well be warned, they give generous servings and lashings of cream! Good value for money. My friends from N.Z. Loved it and kept going there after their touring, good English roast at its best.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“busy busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

sometimes very busy .maybe tells a story
very good value food is of better standard lately
food was fresh tasty very nice .
just a pity about the wait

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great for roast dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Choice of Turkey, beef, pork or gammon as much veg as you like. Just be prepared for a long wait and queue for food at busy times

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Whenever we eat at the Toby Carvery Thanet it is always excellent.
Good choice of meats and excellent array of various vegetables.
The staff are always happy, polite and helpful
We go back time and time again, on our own, with friends or family.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Thanet also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Thanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.