We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced, bland and small portions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie & Benny's - Thanet

Frankie & Benny's - Thanet
Margate Road | Westwood, Ramsgate CT10 2BF, England
01843 605 110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 145 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: American, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Petersfield, UK
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, bland and small portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to Frankie & Bennies for a family members birthday.

Firstly, they messed up our reservation although they were still able to find us a table or 5.

The menu was fairly uninterising but massively overpriced, £20.50 for a mixed grill! Wine way overpriced too, £23 for a bottle of bog standard Mateus Rose.

The food arrived quickly but portions were small and in my case, tasted pretty bland too.

All in all, this restaurant does not offer value for money and you can do a lot better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    31
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant xxx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The best place to eat in Thanet!!! Service is amazing and food is lovely and tasty. Big menu everyone can find something to eat

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly & inclusive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Welcoming atmosphere & staff. Seated & served promptly. I have swallowing problems, so asked if could choose from child's menu - 'No problem Madam'. What a difference, no discrimination (unlike my experience at Toby) & tasty food as well. Thank you Frankie & Benny's.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hardtack & no heating - I even thought I heard Manston airport air raid sirens!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not wishing to cook my wife and I decided to eat here after finishing some shopping on Sunday afternoon.
The place was fairly empty and although we saw a free standing heater in the bar area we thought nothing of it and allowed ourselves to be shown our seat where it was impossible to sit as the circular table in a circular seating area gave no room for other than than the anorexic to fit fit between seat and table!
As our meal progressed it became more and more apparent that the place was decidedly chilly.Upon enquiring from the waitress it turned out that the heating had broken down some days previously but that as she was moving about she was ok! An explanation of the problem would have been better on entering the restaurant then we could have made a choice of whether to stay or not.
Now dressed in scarves and coats I chose the recommended sweet of waffle with ice cream and chocolate sauce.. Wow what a mistake! The waffle was cold and as hard as iron - more suitable for paving the car hard standing area than eating.
After finally attracting the attention of a waitress and explaining the problem I was offered an alternative however I decided not to chance my luck.
When presenting the bill the waitress made great play of saying that I had not been charged for the sweet and that a few more pence had been taken off to round off the account. A nice gesture I thought until I saw that the grand sum of £2.30 had been deducted.
Hey ho I suppose they were looking for the full wartime experience - no heating, inedible food and a take it or leave it attitude.
Watch out here comes a low flying Spitfire!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and servive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our meals and the children loved the kids packs and balloons they were given. The kids menu had a lot of choice and included healthy options too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's - Thanet also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's - Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Benny's - Thanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.