We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie & Benny's - Thanet

Frankie & Benny's - Thanet
Unit D Westwood Cross, Haine Road | Westwood, Ramsgate CT10 2BF, England
01843 605 110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 149 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: American, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Margate Kent U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went here with my daughter and grandchildren, wasn't particularly busy, the waitress that served us was quite surly, and when I changed my mind about having a drink said, do you want a drink or not, in a none too friendly manner waited a long time for the food, I had fish and chips, was passable, but the fish was overcooked and a little crispy, but not bad value at £5.95 we waited quite a long time for my grandsons dessert to arrive, and as it was only ice cream not sure why the delay, on the whole, not a place I would really visit again, as the attitude of our particular waitress left a lot to be desired.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    26
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stingey portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Visited here on numerous occasions the latest being last week. Have noticed the portions have got smaller ( A handful of chips !) 3 different waiters, 1 to show us to the table, 1 to take our food order and another to bring the food. Didnt wait that long for the food, but wasnt that busy. Also ordered a `Frankie`s Delight` ( Non-alcohol cocktail) it was supposed supposed to have a strawberry & half a banana on it for decoration and didnt. I have ordered this on 2 previous occasions and it didnt have it then either. Food very average, portions quite meagre, average service. Not that cheap either really £6.00 for a normal sized hotdog & a handful of chips, so not that good value really. Can get better around here for that price. the Harvester for example around £6.00 for a main course and as much salad & rolls from the salad bar as you want is def better value. Wont be rushing back anytime soon to F&B.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just avoid this branch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Its a really poor branch of a normally good chain

Somehow this branch is not following the chains instructions, poor food, poor service..... Really disappointing as I have eaten in others and it was good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and Family Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Great for families with young children. There is quite a fun atmosphere with lively music and friendly enthusiastic staff. The children were given packs containing crayons and a puzzle book to keep them occupied whilst waiting for the food. The menu offers different portion sizes for younger or older children and due to the amount of options available, caters for the fussiest of diners (ie my four year old!). This isn't a restaurant I would choose for a romantic evening for two, the food is good but nothing special, but it's great for families and we all enjoyed our evening. My only critisism would be that I thought there could have been a better choice of vegetarian dishes on the menu, as these were a little unimaginative.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“FOOD OK BUT WAITED AGES”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Food was average and over priced and waited 1/2 an hour for a table and even longer for the food , very nearly got up and left . wont be going back over rated, Not enough staff.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's - Thanet also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's - Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Benny's - Thanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.