We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Oak Hotel to your Saves list
The Oak Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
CORRINGHAM ESSEX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New year 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 301 on new years eve 2013. Really great hotel, and the staff were great. Especially Ash in the bar that night. :) Made to feel really welcome and the chef even seated us and let us chose from the bar menu, even though they had a pre-booked 7 course meal that evening. Cosy warm room, and spotless. Many thanks for a great new year. The rain even stopped for us at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
37
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is lovely. The staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and are spotlessly clean. The restaurant is brilliant and the breakfast was cooked to order. The hotel's location is amazing too. I really can't find fault with it at all and I really can't understand why this hotel is only a 2*. I'd have thought it was a good 3*. Definitely stay here is you're visiting the beautiful town of Ramsgate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

It's quite a nice hotel with bar attached. I stayed for the bones of a month with work and really felt welcome with Bonny , Alec and the guys in the bar and Tina making it the funnest breakfast every morning. The hotel itself is nice with good Web access . Could do with a spruce up but overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

People meandering in the hotel at all hours of the night. The walls are very this with no insulation. At First light in the morning you will be woken up by the annoying seagulls . The windows are single layer windows so you hear all the people walking alongside the street in the morning. Then an hour or 2 later you hear all the noise from people checking out. Then after theynare checked out, the housecleaning staff are the loudest of all. The floors creek when you walk on them too which adds alot of noise. You may also have a soft spot in the floors too so watch your step. Breakfast is standard english breakfast. I would not recommend it if you want to sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

They took the money off us and we didn't even stay ! We just ask about the room, they are robbing people We called up and they just said write a letter !!!! They took 280 out of my mums account !!! Never agin will we stay there

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expotel, General Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Oak Hotel.

All our bookings are subject to a 24 hour cancelation policy and we only take card details for confirmed bookings, this is to avoid people booking rooms and then just not turning up.

I am disappointed that you have felt the need to put a bad review on trip advisor, without first speaking to me to resolve this situation.

If you do wish to discuss this further you can contact me by phone 01843 583686 or by email reception@oakhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does not have a lift so if your not to energetic the stairs may be a challenge but that aside the rooms are very clean, breakfast fresh n tasty & the staff are outstanding, professional with a positive attitude where nothing is to much bother.
Parking on street out front a bit expensive £2.00 per hour but a multi storey close by offers 24hrs for under £3.00, hotel staff will direct you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We held Dad's 90th birthday party in the Tiffany suite. As we live some miles away, we were delighted that it could all be arranged in advanced so that we could just walk in and enjoy the party. Thanks to Danni and her team it was a huge success with a relaxed atmosphere and lovely food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.