We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pegwell Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Pegwell Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

First impressions when i arrived at the hotel, it was beautiful place! The staff were friendly, the rooms were lovely, and its all themed around victorian decor. Its an old feeling place in a calm area, close to the sea. The room had a beautiful bathroom, with a nice tv and good tea and coffee facilities. I even thought i had left my camera memory card at the hotel once i had left, and they searched specially for me and even rang me to tell me if they had found it. Brilliant service and lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback. The Pegwell Bay hotel is a unique building & we are glad you found it a beautiful place too. Around pegwell bay we do have a very calm atmosphere being a small village & having the sea directly next door with fantastic views across the bay.

We hope you found your memory card! & we hope hear from you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    84
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
108
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Went on a golf society trip, my first time at this hotel. I found the staff to be quite outstanding - friendly (not in your face though) helpful, courteous and knowledgeable - and local! My room was very comfortable with an outstanding shower. Food was very good and the whole place was excellent. Recommend highly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

As advised in our previous response to past feedbacks we enjoy keeping our standards high here, & we our proud of all our staff here who enjoy providing a fantastic customer service to all our guests. Most staff are local to the area of The Pegwell Bay which is really helpful when providing our guests the correct information.

We are glad your stay was comfortable & excellent, & we hope to see you again on maybe another golf society trip!

Kind Regards,
Cherry,
Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We first used this hotel last year for our annual 3 day golf trip to Kent. Last year we were very impressed with everything and this year the experience was just the same. The cleanliness is excellent and the quality of the shower is superb. We were staying on half board basis so had evening dinner and breakfast included. The standard of food was very good, the breakfast choice extensive enough for our group. The staff are excellent, friendly and always smiling. The pub, over or under the road, is a good place to enjoy a few drinks after a day out.
All in all another very enjoyable stay and hopefully we will back next year!
Many thanks to all at the Pegwell Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback.

We are very proud of our staff here & we enjoy giving our guests the best service possible with a friendly smile at all times. Our Housekeeping team continue to do a fantastic job with the cleanliness of all hotel rooms. We much appreciate your positive comments & these have been passed on to all members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed or two nights with a nearly 1 year old baby. After being advised that a regukar double room would be to small to accommodate a cot as well we upgraded to a Superior Room. That was ok. The bathroom was huge! Not sure if this is what gave the room the 'superior' title as the bedroom itself was in my opinion a normal size. So I guess the standard double may be a bit on the small side but, i haven't seen any so only guessing.
Room and bathroom itself a clean and comfortable. Shower was one of the best I have ever experienced, ie very powerful! Fantastic for waking up.
The breakfast was also plenty and the cooked breakfast is also very well done and offers good variety.
Staff is friendly and happy to help.
No complaints, would stay there again if we're in the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

We do recommend our more spacious rooms when either a cot or put up bed are needed in the room. This all depends on the avaliabilty on the dates required & being a listed building dating back to the early 1800's the rooms sizes varey greatly in size.


We are glad you had an enjoyable stay, & we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tour_contact
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading about it on TA using the booking function off this site. We booked two rooms both of which were described as Sea Views. I am not of the opinion that they were. When I opened the curtains my first view was of the car park. Attached is a photo of what I saw when I first looked straight out. If I turned there was a touch more view of the sea but that was then blocked off by a jutting out wall. No one in our group was of the opinion that our rooms possessed sea views (maybe they called be called partial).

I asked reception and they explained it was considered a Seaview. They did seem very keen to help and offered another potential room but when we went to look it turned out to be a level lower and the view of the sea was blocked across by the pub directly across the road. It was explained to get into one of the corner rooms would involve a different tariff which was significantly more than we were paying.

Making the booking there was a problem with getting the credit card payment to go through. Over several phone calls the staff were generally helpful and we finally managed to get the charge to run through. On check out my friends in the 2nd room had their credit card charged even though I had already paid for the rooms. We ended up reversing payments and re-charging. Not the end of the world but frustrating.

More positively -
1. The rooms were nice although the noise does carry particularly from the room above and the hallway - a trait of an older building I guess
2. The bathrooms (and particularly the showers) were really good.
3. The staff seemed keen to provide good service. (having seen that the manager takes the time to respond to nearly all of the reviews this does not surprise me)

Overall, it seemed like a nice hotel; there were just a few small things that - frustratingly detracted from the experience.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the expensive corner ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us & please accept the delayed response.

The rooms you booked are on the western facing side of the hotel and offer a view of the cliffs, fields and the sea. Whilst they are not directly sea-facing they have been verified by the AA as Sea View. We do have some superior rooms on the corner of the hotel and these have both southerly and western aspects thus giving the best views of both the sea & cliffs.

I apologise for the frustration you experienced with the credit card payment. We have recently instructed our service provider to improve connectivity of our equipment to eradicate such problems which i totally accept can be very frustrating.

I thank you for your positive comments about our staff, rooms and bathrooms. We constantly strive to improve standards and customer service levels and the team are of one accord when it comes to giving our esteemed guests a great experience.

Please do come back and visit us again in the near future.


Alan Moore CBII
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were just at the hotel for one day but long enough to discover how nice the hotel is. The room we had was spacious and clean. The shower was very nice indeed and the beds were soft and lovely. Breakfast was in a beautiful room with sea views. I imagine in the Summer it would be glorious.
Just the one gripe. The door to the hotel is awful for anyone with limited mobility with very nasty steps. The restaurant is in the pub over the road but we had a smashing meal and there was a friendly atmosphere with good service. However the mobility issue raised it's ugly head again. THere are three ways into the pub. Underground from the hotel, a front entry and a side entrance. They all involve quite steep steps.
Apart from that he place is brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you for you recent review, and apologies for the delay in responding to you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found both the hotel and breakfast rooms to be pleasant.

Thank you for your comments regarding access. This is something that we have been reviewing and are pleased to say that our bar and restaurant area has been granted planning permission for a small extension, within which has been incorporated full disabled access and disabled toilets. This is scheduled to take place towards the end of the year. The Hotel steps unfortunately can prove a difficulty for those with mobility issues, but due to it being a listed building we are limited to the changes we are able to make to the exisitng structure. We do however have a disabled access which is located on the the other side of reception. We also have a help call point which is just to the left of the steps should anyone require assistance. We hope these points will help should you decide to come and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again for your feed back, and we hope you do come to stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Rebecca Bromage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Take a lovely building, refurbish it well, keep maintenance up to date, have good housekeepers keeping it clean - many hotels do that. What sets the Pegwell Bay way, way above the rest is that they employ genuinely HAPPY and highly competent staff who delight in helping make your stay more than enjoyable.

Recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast, also the hot ruby grapefruit. Breakfast is cooked to order so is fresh and delicious. Sunday roast dinner is also excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on our hotel.

As I have said to previous reviewers, we are very proud of the staff we have here and know that they do take genuine delight in ensuring all of our guests recieve the best possible level of service. I am delighted that you have been met with this standard of service and hope we will be welcoming you back to The Pegwell Bay Hotel soon. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back!

Kind Regards
Rebecca Bromage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegwell Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.