We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely new place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogata Yosa - CLOSED

Ogata Yosa
57 High Street, Ramsgate CT11 9RJ, England
01843 588058
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A lovely new place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited on a Saturday evening and it was not exactly heaving with people, although there were several occupied tables. The reception was friendly and the surroundings very pleasant. The menu is varied and we took ages deciding what to have, having worked out that we could not manage a bit of everything! They were out of the sherry that I had ordered but I was happy to choose something else to drink.

I agree with another reviewer that the price for sake is pretty astronomical, bearing in mind that I can buy a bottle of it in Waitrose for under £7, but this was a meal out and a treat, so we had it anyway (and it was lovely).

The food itself was wonderful, the bento box I ordered was more than adequate even for my enormous appetite and the variety of flavours made every mouthful an adventure. Lack of dessert was a bit disappointing but our Japanese friend, with whom we were dining, did mention that they did not really go in for desserts, so that was fine. All in all, we will most definitely be going back again (or will order food for delivery). Having been pre-warned, we took enough cash to pay but the restaurant now has a card payment machine, so that will make it far easier for diners.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never eaten Japanese food be for but as a new restaurant in Ramsgate thought we would give it a try.Very very nice as i'm not a etxpert on Japanese food all I can say is the food was very fresh tasting and very fast to the table, a new experience and a very nice one hope this place gets enough business to make it a lasting edition to Ramsgate

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great selection of excellent Japanese food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was delighted to see this restaurant open up as it has brought some much needed variety to the cuisines available in Thanet.
I was even more delighted by the extensive menu offered.
Despite their being a slight language barrier which made ordering a little awkward, and us not getting any starters, we went for the Bento boxes for the main course which were reasonably priced and delicious. They comprise of 7 individual dishes which gives a nice variety.
The Sake seemed a little pricey but very nice. The price for a pint of Fosters was very reasonable though.
The décor inside is simple but a modern take on Japanese design, which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere, and would be great for any occasion, romantic, business or even a large group.
The staff were very friendly and courteous.
I will definitely be going back to try more or the dishes. A jewel on Ramsgate's High Street!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Defrosted food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Sorry. I tried to like it I really did.
I had a mixed sashimi £13. Parts of it were clearly defrosted. It had that cold wet taste to it. Really not liking the the plastic leaves amongst the fish.

My husband had the vegetarian Bento. The tempura was cold. And it came with crab sticks (Vegetarian ?).
It could be great, we need a great place to eat. And sadly this is not it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to ramsgate, a must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

It is located next to Natwest, opposite Argos.
We went on a Tuesday night and there was only one other couple there.
The front of house/waitress was very welcoming and friendly. The decor is spot on clean, fresh and stylish.
Menu has a good selection to choose from (especially the sushi) and we were certainly not disappointed with our choices. if you like a bit of a kick to your food then they will bring you some chilli sauce to add to your dish but be warned it is extremely hot.
This place makes a great change from the normal Chinese and Thai food so definitely worth a visit.
One more thing, they currently only take cash but there is an ATM next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogata Yosa also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogata Yosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.