We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and location Shame Outside Areanot Kept Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Harbour Brasserie

Royal Harbour Brasserie
East Pier | Royal Harbour, Ramsgate CT11 8LS, England
01843599059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 149 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice food and location Shame Outside Areanot Kept Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice food and great location at the end of the harbour wall. Only negative was the outside area. The steps up to the restaurant and outside area were rather scruffy and would benefit for a bit of attention. Inside looks great though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    32
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, Average everything else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has the most amazing view, Defintely worth visiting just for that... Food and service are average and very overpriced..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, little over priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

If we hadn't been told about this place we would never have gone, it looks very run down from the outside, no obvious signs with opening times or sample menu.
The staff were very welcoming chatty and attentive.
The menu has very little choice and is overpriced.
The brasserie itself resembles a cafe rather than a restaurant. Paper table mats etc. you would expect more for the price if the food.
I had dressed crab with a strange sort of pickled vegetable salad, very overpowering.
Two of my party had ribeye steak, both said it was cooked to perfection but nothing to accompany it but a few sliced potatoes.

All in all this could be a great eating place, some refurbishment is essential, paint work, toilets etc.
The food is really nice, just not enough. And quite expensive.

Also note, steep steps to the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wasted opportunity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant several times now. The food is not awful but it is hugely overpriced . It suffers from great views and probably the best location in Ramsgate, which makes you presume you're in for a treat but sadly the service is just not on point... you can wait forever to be greeted or give your order and at the end when you just want to leave, paying, that usually proves annoyingly lax. They seem to confuse 'relaxed service' with ineptitude, which in turn makes for another irritating visit. Its a shame, they really need to up their game to justify their prices. The chefs food is mostly mediocre (such a yoke that royal connection), mean and tired which again , leaves you smarting when the bill arrives. It wouldn't take much to make this a real pleasure to visit...if not, by the autumn, when they'll need to rely on local business, I dont think
youll be able to review this place. They really should visit Wyatt and Jones or Bon Appetit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had lunch here. The best the restaurant offered were the views. The menu was very limited. Whilst it is not the best food I’ve eaten, neither is it the worst. My husband had the plaice which was very nice. My daughter opted for the pate which was very ordinary. I chose the smoked haddock and poached egg with a sauce. It looked very bland on the plate and tasted bland on the palette too. The portions were small too with no side vegetables or garnish. I was still hungry and helped myself to my daughter’s side bowl of chips (they weren’t good either). At about £15 a head for lunch it is overpriced in my opinion, even taking into account the great location. Because I tasted the plaice my review pushed this up to 3 stars. I would go again for a drink perhaps, but not to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Harbour Brasserie also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Royal Harbour Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Harbour Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.