We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Harbour Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here christmas eve and christmas night as we were going to family for christmas day. The room was very nice, but the bathroom was the smallest ever. This did not spoil our stay at all. The overall quirkiness of the hotel was so wonderful. The old record player playing Christmas songs. When we came back in the evening to the log fire burning, and cheese and biscuits laid out for all the guests was lovely. The honesty bar was great, where we had a port with our cheese and biscuits infront of the roaring log fire (courtesy of the night porter Richard). The breakfast was fantastic and the choice was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view Christmas morning overlooking the harbour and the sun shining on the sea, made up for the tiny shower room. We came here to go to our family Christmas day, but would certainly return again. All in all a very lovely experience, made even lovelier meeting some lovely people at the hotel, guests/staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had our room overlooking the Harbour, it was breathtaking Christmas morning seeing the sun sparkl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    126
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
80
289
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked this hotel as a Christmas treat! What a wonderful treat it was and a fantastic start to the holiday.
Perfect place with amazingly friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in room 4 which was stunning. We came back from dinner and the open fire in our room was lit for us, complementary cheese and biscuits were layed out for an evening Snack just perfect. Views are stunning, we didn't even put the tv on!!!! We will be going back again soon x

Room Tip: Room 4 is a beautiful suite with an open fire and all mod cons including a coffee machine and a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 days very quirkey hotel very warm welcome by the manageress room was small but a good view over the harbour couldn't get the shower to work properly told the manager and it was fixed pronto, breakfast is superb not your usual bacon beans sausage and cold tomato..... you can choose what you want my partner had an omlette you dont get that in many hotels, would definitley stay again but would ask fora bigger room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had read that this hotel was unusual, that's true! However it's good value and has some outstanding features. Made up from two sea front Victorian terraced houses there are three sitting areas all with log fires and an eclectic collection of artefacts pictures and bric-a-brac! Well stocked honesty bar in one was very useful as the weather closed in on the second evening that we stayed there. The Staff were extremely helpful ordering taxies and ensuring we helped ourselves to the complimentary evening cheese and biscuits! The beds were very comfortable and the "cabin room " was as stated very small, but comfortable. The breakfasts were exceptional, at present they do not do evening meals but a dining room was under construction as we left, lets hope they keep the same chef. A super clean, warm and comfortable find on a cold wet weekend.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view, booking direct was cheaper than the on line hotel finder site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a lovely room in the annexe a few doors down with a fabulous view. Very friendly, attentive day manager. It has a lovely lived in feel. Good breakfast, lots of choice, just had to wait both days for a table to come free. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband chose and booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday. We stayed in room number 4 which overlooked the harbour with a balcony (a bit chilly at this time of the year but perfect in the summer), a lovely warm bathroom with double shower, and best of all a REAL fire in the room! The bedroom was beautifully decorated in shades of blue and had a four poster super king bed. It was very well equipped with coffee making machine, 'fridge etc. and even fresh flowers. The hotel itself is very comfortable with the feel of a country house - sofas, rugs, an amazing array of glossy magazines, wood fires, and walls adorned with interesting art works. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious - no menu for cooked breakfast just ask for what you fancy! There is also a delicious selection of meats, cheese, fish, fruits, yogurts etc. and a whole piece of honeycomb to dip into. There was no restaurant when we stayed but believe one is opening before Christmas in the basement. My husband chose well and I look forward to returning very soon!

Room Tip: Room 4 and 15 are on the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A wonderfull hotel .lovely,lovely room.bed was very comfortable. david and jillyann made us very welcome,and helpful,the breakfast was lovely.nothing to much trouble.we shall come again. a very pleasant stay..mr &mrs finch.

Room Tip: no 4,lovely touch,excellent alround.many thank,s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10 - 11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of adjoining Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Currently closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.