We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about OK,but I wouldn't stay there again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The De Ville

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The De Ville to your Saves list
The De Ville
45 Grange Road, Ramsgate CT11 9LP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Ramsgate B&B and Inns
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just about OK,but I wouldn't stay there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We paid £60 room only for a night at the Hotel De Ville so we were not expecting the Ritz but as they were at the upper end of the budget hotels in that area we thought it would be reasonably nice. We got there to find that its a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel as such. We went into the bar to book in and get the keys and this was the start of the bad service. Firstly the women who dealt with us couldn't make the c/c machine work so whilst holding luggage we had to walk to the other bar to use another machine. At no point did she offer to help with the luggage or say we could leave it somewhere safe whilst we sorted it out. Once we had paid we then had a 4 story climb to our room and were asked if we wanted breakfast and told that we could not decide in the morning we had to say there and then, so we declined. Once we got to the room and the women had departed we discovered various shortcomings, including at least half of the lights not working (including the one above the bathroom mirror, which made putting on make up rather tricky) no full lenght mirror in the room, and a general level of grottiness, which had we not been 4 stories up and late for the do we were going to I would have taken up with the management. As it was we just did not have time to ask if we could be moved or for our money back and I did not fancy asking in front of a pub full of customers, so we just went out and put it down to experience. When we left in the morning we had been told to leave key in the door and only saw the cleaners so we had no chance to tell anyone of our dissatisfaction but in conclusion I did not think it was worth £60 and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ammanford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Ramsgate for a birthday celebration and stayed here for 2 nights. Simon and Lisa only took it on a few months ago and exrend a very warm welcome. The twin rooms are basic,comfortable and clean and made sure we had everything we needed.They spent the whole weekend raising money for a charity for a local man and so it was very busy. We had hearty breakfasts and all for £45/night for two people! Result! Many thanks, Becky and Rob, South Wales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

we arrived at this supposed 3 star hotel to find they wanted to take money off us for a room already paid for. The person serving us had no clue which room we were staying in, and was trying to charge us twice for the same room.The room cost £80 for two people...if we paid £20 that would have been acceptable for the standard..
We found our room in a cold damp basement . the room was OK in size and had three beds
However the room was poorly decorated shabby and not that clean.
We were over come by the bad fat smell outside our room, which was next to the kitchen. We were woken up very early ,after a late night out by hearing the chef coughing and could hear the eggs cracking as cooked them...
frankly this is a 1 star hotel with a kettle but you could not get water into because the tap didn't not work.
Our beds felt damp and the room smelt damp. We could not sleep because we had plastic sheets on our beds and and the beds were awful( and very squeeky). It was so unclean, we did not even bother to shower . i wish i had stayed in premiere inn or travelodge.
The water did not work on the cold tap, it dribbled to slowly to clean your teeth.
i never made bad reviews about places i am generally honest
i found the place creepy, as a woman staying there ,and it was frankly worse than fawlty towers. We declined breakfast on the bad fat smell, and the fact we could see the kitchen from our room! and because our room was so poor this did not make us change out opinion on the food so cannot comment on the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not located in a particularly nice area. The rooms themselves are underneath a pub and are accessed either through the kitchen or via a narrow, dark alley to the side. Due to their location they are incredibly noisy (to the point where subtitles are needed on the TV) until quite late at night. The room was also extraordinarily overpriced - £80 a night. Probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed and best avoided.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The De Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The De Ville

Address: 45 Grange Road, Ramsgate CT11 9LP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel De Ville is a Public House and Hotel.We have 9 rooms, all twin with en suite except for one single room. we have 2 rooms that are big enough to make family rooms with 2 put up beds. Their are 5 rooms upstairs and 4 downstairs. The rooms are clean, comfy and tidy. The top rooms with sea views. There are 2 floors up, my flat 1st floor and the rooms on 2nd floor. Breakfast is £5 a head extra, and (as i cook enough for me too!) is hearty and tasty.The pub is a friendly , busy place and we have live music on once a week.There are plenty of restaurants in the near vicinity. Some cheaper ones and some expensive ones if you want that little bit more!We are a ten minute walk from the town and the same to the Royal Harbour. there is a five minute walk to the seafront/beach which is straight down the road.we have people stay here for a few weeks sometimes an if you ask, you are more than welcome to use our fridge and microwave , or even get a take away and use our plates and cuttlery and eat it in our breakfast room.My wife and i have only had the place nearly a year, and have made some big changes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The De Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Ville Ramsgate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The De Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.