We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious little cafe with great views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Galley

The Galley
3 Westcliff Arcade, Ramsgate CT11 8LH, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 149 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Unpretentious little cafe with great views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Visiting Ramsgate and need a snack. This little cafe is great, very informal with simple fayre and great views over the harbour. Their homemade burger is delicious. Staff very pleasant. Service can be a little slow when busy but hey just enjoy the view over the Marina!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We always make a beeline for The Galley when we visit Ramsgate. It is very small, but with superb light meals and excellent coffee. They serve the best pannini anywhere. You can sit inside and look out over the harbour, or on the terrace in the sunshine and watch the birds, the sea and the boats while you eat. And the prices are very modest for the quality. Service is very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boughton-under-Blean, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Such tasty food....highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just paid our second visit toThe Galley and will definitely return.
A compact little cafe with a small number of outdoor and indoor tables. The staff are very friendly. The coffee is good. My husband had beef hotpot which he said was good and he would have it again (this from him means it was definitely good). I had cheese and asparagus quiche with salad and paysan bread....Oh My God....it was delicious. I cannot praise the food enough. Quiche was homemade and you could tell....extremely tasty. The salad was lovely drizzled with a dressing, complete with olives...yum! Homemade coleslaw... 4 thick slices of paysam bread (I had never heard of it - but it was lovely). The food was so very tasty that I could still taste it some time after leaving the cafe.
This is definitely the best food I have had in a long while!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Everything about the Galley makes me smile! The staff are friendly, the service is top class, the food is delicious and arrives in good time. They even have blankets for their outdoor seating if you want to brave the nippy weather for the wonderful views.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Found this wonderful little place a few years ago when staying with family during a January weekend away. Sitting outside with the blankets to keep you warm, such great views of he harbour, could almost be the riviera.
The food is fresh cooked and delicious, really good value for money. A great place to while away the time drinking coffee watching the world go by.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.