We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sadly disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Age & Sons - CLOSED

Age & Sons
Charlotte Court, Ramsgate CT11 8HE, England
44 01843 851515
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sadly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

my fiancé and I came to this restaurant which was pleasant looking on arrival and friendly table service (no wine spillage) until the couple opposite us who arrived after us had their starters before us, and the head waiter kept avoiding my gaze as he realised what happened and eventually came over to offer another bottle of wine by way of apology.. at this point, being pretty sozzled on the bottle of wine we'd already consumed whilst waiting for our starters, we had to say no and just asked that our food arrive swiftly. When it did arrive, it was quite disappointing; I had the lobster burger which wasn't very appetising and essentially a small bit of lobster on some toasted buns with a paltry bit of warm lettuce. My fiancé had the scallops which he found to be average tasting. Our mains were both fish based, and whilst the fish itself was a good portion and very tender, the flavours of the dishes were out of sorts with the fish and not complimentary in any way. It's only redeeming feature was the cheese board, which we had gratis because of having to wait over an hour for our starters, and this was actually a pretty decent board of three really tasty local cheeses, a bread box and tasty jams/chutneys. Our waiter then went and accidently overcharged us on the bill (which we didn't notice, and therefore had left the restaurant) but he followed us to the bar down in the basement, and when we dismissed the offer of giving us the money he'd charged by mistake, he offered to buy us a shot. Warmed by this, we agreed and when the bar tender came over to offer us the shots, in a final moment of hilarious misfortune, when I requested that the drink did not contain any traces of tequila as I abhor the stuff, the bar man matter of factly explained that the shot that he'd made especially for us, contained (real) espresso coffee and...tequila. Naturally, I drank it, knowing that it'd help in erasing, briefly, the memory of a pretty disappointing dining experience, in what was otherwise a lovely holiday. Except the cheese board of course...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    36
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrific”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Waitress spilt wine everywhere and didn't even apologise. Waited an hour and a half for starter when asked about it waitress didn't have a clue nor waiter. Eventually got it which was frozen scallops and under cooked crab. Mains came an lamb was very roar. Also chief turned out to be the owner who didn't even come and apologise himself and had his poor inexperienced waiting staff taking the brunt of it all. Very disappointed and should be shut down before causing real harm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ageson, Manager at Age & Sons, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment, and we are really sorry you felt your meal was not to standard, however we must question some of your points, such as your complaints regarding the crab and scallops. We have not had crab on the menu for many months now. None of our seafood is ever frozen and we do not even have the facilities to freeze seafood, fish and meat which is why we can pride ourselves on serving only the freshest of ingredients.

In response to your other comments we are sorry you felt the wait for service was unacceptable and can only apologise for this and will ensure you comments regarding our dining room service team are passed on.

Lastly can we further add that our chefs are extremely competent and experienced and would never serve food that could potentially harm any customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had been meaning to go here for ages (pun intended) and eventually got round to it but wish we hadn't. Food very average and service well below average (tried to deliver main courses before the starters had arrived and said they would bring the starters afterwards! Untl the maitre d intervened...and we were just about the only poeple eating there on a Thursday evening). Someone's spent a lot of money on this building and it's a shame they haven't sorted the product. Ransgsate needs a good retaurant but at the moment, this isn't it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, delicious find ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yesterday we had a great lunch in relaxing, tasteful surroundings, served by happy, willing staff ... the food was totally delicious, there were five of us and we all had three different courses, each one being just about perfect. I had a starter of cuttlefish with black risotto, it looked amazing and tasted even better, a perfect duck confit followed by one of the best deserts ever, a perfect passion fruit soufflé ... of course I had to wait as it was prepared and freshly cooked after I ordered it so certainly worth the wait. I think that the reviewers that criticise Age are in the wrong type of restaurant and would probably be happier in pubs that serve food or one of the restaurant chains that feed you quickly and send you on your way and did it ever occur to those complaining that they perhaps weren't actually being encouraged to return ?? ... small menu, yes, but inventive and more than adequate, inventive choices for each course ... few treats to be had in Ramsgate but this one certainly tops the list if you are looking for a calm atmosphere, great food in tasteful surroundings away from the crowds ... thank you Age & Sons for a memorable lunch ... like ET, we shall be back !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

12 of us went on a Saturday night for a friends birthday. Started off getting drinks downstairs, which took an age (must be where the name cones from) and were also very poor cocktails.
Offered a very limited menu as 12 of us and once again good took an eternity to arrive. When it did arrive was very poor. My steak for main was supposed to be medium rare and was blue at best. Peppercorn sauce never arrived and steak was also very chewy.

Really disappointing as great location and layout.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Age & Sons also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Age & Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.