We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, amazing presentation, great atmosphere, but not enough meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Age & Sons - CLOSED

Age & Sons
Charlotte Court, Ramsgate CT11 8HE, England
44 01843 851515
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, amazing presentation, great atmosphere, but not enough meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had the beetroot salad starter, the pork loin & belly main and the chocolate tart with chestnut icecream pudding. Gotta say the french waiter was the coolest dude ever, great service and a nice smile. The table decoration was lovely and we felt comfortable chilling and chatting whilst we ate our food on a romantic night out. We had individual drinks as opposed to a bottle of wine, and the meal came to roughly £60, not bad at all, if anything a bit on the cheaper side. I would wholly recommend this restaurant the only complaint is that there was not enough food for me in the main meal, I like my meat and I got about half of what I was expecting, had some chips extra (how classy lol) as I don't like mashed potato.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    36
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wasn't as impressed as i thought i would be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went one evening with about 30 others, pre ordered our food (menu choice was really nice) when it came out looked very bland and tasteless, service was pretty poor too and they really couldn't cope with so many of us in one sitting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, super average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dined with two friends for lunch. The food was very very good, well cooked and presented. The service from our waitress was less impressive, no interest, no knowledge of the menu and missed off our side order, albeit the chef quickly came to the rescue.

The restaurant is nicely styled and overall represented value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited several times - love the place as its never the same twice. Toby is a great chef and his food is outstanding and original. Nice wines and fab cheeses !!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A modern, creative, relaxed place to eat in Ramsgate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Toby is an original, dedicated chef who really cares about his ingredients and about making something delicious, interesting and healthy. Great combinations of flavours, local produce and a very warm welcome - it's a pleasure to eat there, something to look forward to beforehand and savour afterwards. Ranks with the best restaurants in much bigger towns and cities. Tiniest criticism - measures for the glass of Prosecco a little bit skimpy. But if you come to Ramsgate, book up and don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Age & Sons also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Age & Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.