We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Guest House to your Saves list
Castle Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here on many occasions and I can definitely say that this is best B&B that I've ever stayed in. Rooms are prettily decorated and clean. Beds are comfortable and the best thing is the warm welcome from the proprietors. Sharon is brilliant at making you feel welcome and well attended but without the crowding-feeling that I've experienced previously in other B&Bs that are situated in people's homes. 100% recommend this as a place to stay in Dover.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
42
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed one night. We checked in shortly after the 4 pm check-in time and were met promptly and shown our room. The room was clean and bright and had neutral, calming decor. The bathroom was small but served its purpose. The bed was firm and comfortable, the sheets were crisp and smelled nice and clean. Wifi was fast, breakfast was made to order and tasty. There is some noise, always depending on how loud other guests might be. One can easily hear conversation outside your door or as they enter their room right next to yours or across the landing as is the case in any house. There is some street noise as the hotel is at a small intersection but it isn't a route for lorries or buses so it isn't loud. I'm a light sleeper but did not wake in the night so it is calm. These are not complaints, just observations. The price was reasonable and the hotel was well located. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Great 1 night experience throughout. My mate and I had a small but cosy and very clean twin room in the attic with newly refurbished en suite bathroom. Breakfast was great as mentioned in various previous guest review. Sharon is a lovely lady whom we had a nice conversation at the breakfast. Nothing to fault apart from Dover being quite a hole, but at least we visited very interesting Town Museum with its treasure The Dover Boat. Great location for walks and drive around other coastal towns nearby too. Thank you Sharon and Girls!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I only stayed the one night, but the room, facilities and location were great. If you are in Dover to see the castle or white cliffs, then this is the best place to stay. It's a 5 min walk to the castle itself and close to the beginning of the white cliffs walking trail. If not, come for the amazing breakfast at least, the best full English breakfast I've ever had! Thanks Sharon :)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Hats off to Sharon for making our recent experience in Dover incredibly pleasant! While a small B&B, the rooms are quite charming and the beds comfortable. We had to catch an early-morning ferry to Calais, and Sharon (the proprietor) was so helpful in securing a taxi for us. And the breakfast she served before we left was hearty and extremely tasty! Definitely worth the stay! Can't wait to go back to Dover ... for longer than one night next time!

Room Tip: This B&B is just down the hill from historic Dover Castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Situated at the foot of the pathway up the hill to the castle, this B&B was ideal. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a slight problem in that check in was after 4pm, but we had to return the hire car before 4pm. The hire car people drove us to the B&B at 3pm and left us and all our luggage there, despite the fact that it was pouring with rain, windy and cold. Thankfully the landlady saw us and let us in. She was very helpful and kind, and produced a lovely breakfast for us the next morning. She even booked a cab for us to take us to the ferry - not a great distance, but with 2 large suitcases and 2 backpacks, too far to walk.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Whether you are catching a ferry or visiting Dover as we were, this is an ideal location, especially for visiting Dover Castle as the name might suggest.
Good value for money, very clean, large comfortable en-suite room, very friendly service, excellent choice and quality breakfast. It was ideal for what we wanted. Only slight drawback is that there is no off road parking although you can park outside the premises.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Take a tour of the secret wartime tunnels underneath Dover Castle and head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and off road parking is available by request, with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/ twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space on-site. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome Status. Off street parking on-site. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Dover, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.