We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be using a premier inn again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dover - A20

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dover - A20 to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dover - A20
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dover
Devon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Won't be using a premier inn again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had problems with fire doors in a previous premier inn and this one was no exception. Doors slamming until the early hours, paper thin walls meaning we could hear next door's conversation, it was far from a good night's sleep. Absolutely appalling! The restaurant next door could not cope with the number of people, food took forever to come out and my meal had clearly been left on the side as it was dried up and fairly inedible. Breakfast the next morning wasn't really any better, the large woman serving breakfast acted like she'd rather be anywhere else but there. Really not impressed with the whole experience and wish we had just caught a ferry on the same day as our 4 hour drive up to Dover as stopping overnight was not a refreshing experience as hoped. Will not be using a premier inn again, a good night guarantee? What a load of rubbish!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover - A20, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    171
    56
    23
    10
See reviews for
169
173
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Too hot, Too noisy, lack of staff, leaking shower, small room for family, I will never stay in a premier Inn again (almost as bad as Holiday Inns). Room had no cooling facility, and the roll out bed was not made up, I had to fetch the linen myself and make it up

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover - A20, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, west sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one nght as we were going to a wedding in the local area. I generally find that Premier Inn are a good bet for this kind of thing, but have to say was not impressed on this occasion.

Room was clean with enough space for 2 adults and one child, and the bed was OK. The noise of the very busy main road didn't bother us too much, but the lack of air conditioning did. It was a hot night, and despite having windows open a small crack, and the small fan on all night, it was simply unbearable. My partner asked if the room temperature could be changes and was told 'No', and given sheets instead of duvets for the bed. Our Son really had a tough time, and ended up being unwell due to the heat.

The next morning we explained all this and the receptionist, just said ' It says on our website we don't have a/c'. Now we paid £85 for 1 night - hardly budget rate for room only so we were left unhappy and very tired.

Our friends left the hotel a little while after us and informed us they were offered a refund based on them having the same issues! As you can imagine this was frustrating for us, so we went back to the hotel, for the receptionist to insist they asked for a refund, and despite our complaint, because we hadsn't asked for our money back, the guarantee wasn't offered! To be fair, we did get our refund without issue once we specifically asked for it - but I feel it should have been offered, given the fact we had complained on check-out!

I would use a Premier Inn again - but I will be paying more attention to the weather before I decide!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here while visiting family locally. Good location - road not too busy so relatively quiet when trying to get to sleep. Rooms good size, comfortable and clean. Beefeater restaurant next door very handy - excellent breakfasts and dinner pretty good too. Would recommend and will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My 1st stay at a premier inn, & I have to say I was really impressed, the room was spotless & believe me when I say that, the bed was so comfortable, & the staff were really nice, they smiled at you, & thanks to pippa the manageress I was able to get my cab back to Dover , because the number I was given was wrong, so thanks for that! Oh I've forgot to mention the premier inn I stayed at, it was on the Folkestone road in Dover, I would recommend it to anyone, &im going to book my next stay at a premier inn in gatwick, I normally stay at the Marriott but from now on I'm booking premier inns, just hope gatwick is as good as Dover .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stopped over on the way to the ferry. Decent room with comfy bed though, as you would expect in a budget hotel, there was no air-con - which on a hot night would have been welcomed. The 'good night sleep' promise by Premier Inn is ridiculous. How can you guarantee this on a very hot night? We didn't take this seriously.

The main problem was breakfast. When time was short in the morning the breakfast facility opened late. We stuffed breakfast down in the ten minutes available but felt ripped off. I had previously phoned to check specifically what time the breakfast opened in the morning and was told that I had enough time.

What really irked me was that the big fella behind the desk simply smiled, shrugged his holders and said there was nothing he could do about it.

Promises of customer satisfaction not met.

Room Tip: Family room for 4 was good and is cheaper via the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel very easy to find, usual Premier Inn standard, comfy beds etc. The staff very welcoming. The restaurant next door is a Beefeater. We stayed in this PI in Dover on a Saturday and fortunately we had rung the Plough to book a table. The restaurant was extremely busy, partly because it was a fantastic summer day, but also it was the only restaurant in the area. Several people arrived saying that they had booked a table via the pubs website but the restaurant didn't have their booking on the list. The staff worked very hard to ensure everybody who wanted to eat there were seated as soon as possible. The staff did this with a very friendly and positive attitude, most people were satisfied that there needs were met in the end, but sometimes you can't please some people no matter what. Menu was the usual Beefeater style, we ordered steaks and they were both cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms were facing away from the road, probably best to ask for a room overlooking the green spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Dover - A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover - A20

Address: Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover - A20 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Dover in the Kent Countryside, this hotel is the perfect relaxing stop off on your way to or from Continental Europe. Less than 4 miles from the Ferry Terminal, it is ideally located for those wishing to stay before catching an early ferry or after returning late on an evening sailing.Dover (A20) Premier Inn is conveniently located just off the A20 between Dover and Folkestone and provides a great base for exploring the surrounding area. Not only are there some great sights such as Dover Castle and the lovely Dover Beach within close reach, but the beautiful Cathedral City of Canterbury is only half an hour's drive away.Refurbished in 2011, we offer clean and comfortable rooms, a Beefeater Grill Restaurant and Bar and all the amenities you would expect from Premier Inn - not to mention a welcoming and helpful team on duty for you 24hrs a day.Here at Premier Inn Dover (A20) we are so confident in what we have to offer you that we guarantee you will have a good night's sleep - or your money back! (Terms and Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dover - A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover West
Premier Inn Dover - A20 England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Dover - A20, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.