We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stones, stones, stones” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Beach

Dover Beach
Seafront, Dover, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 76 things to do in Dover
Attraction details
Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stones, stones, stones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We go to the beach alot when the sun is shining and its a nice place for the children to play and to relax. I was unhappy to find that there were NO TOILETS!!!!! and we had to walk to a nearby shopping centre to use theirs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    54
    18
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it was very clean looking but its all pebbles lots of seagulls and we could watch the passenger ferries coming & going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

it was straight across from our hotel, it seemed a friendly area for families and their pets. The water area looked safe at the shore line and there were little sailing boats having fun and a group of swimmers were practising up and down the water just out from the beach area. we could see all this from our hotel room window, A very nice breeze was blowing too

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dover Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dover has a pebble beach, and a nice view of the port and the cruise terminal. It has a long pier with a nice little cafe at the end. There are a couple of kiosks serving food and drink which are open in the summer, and a cafe/restaurant which is open all year along the seafront. Adjacent to the pier is a seafood stall, the seafood is lovely. Close to the marina is a very small lifeboat shop, selling a small range of gifts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cut Off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Access to the beach from the town is difficult so the beach is not as well used as it might be. Parking is expensive. Water quality could be better but with the busy ferry terminal at the eastern end and the commercial docks at the other it could be worse.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dover seafront has had quite a bit of attention recently and it looks really smart. It has been landscaped, cleaned up, and new lights etc have been added. It is a lovely place to spend time. There are two restaurants worth a mention on the seafront: Hythe Bay and the Marina. There is also now a Starbucks next to the Marina - it makes the world of difference to have somewhere to sit down and refresh. And the view if terrific! I try to have my informal business meetings along the seafront wither in the Hythe Bay or Starbucks, and the environment makes it much easier to reach amicable conclusions!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Beach also viewed

 

Been to Dover Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.