We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Beefeater

The Plough Beefeater
Folkestone Road, Dover CT15 7AB, England
01304 213340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 124 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Championing the unique flavours which come with chargrill cooking methods, Beefeater Grill The Plough - Dover offers a modern take on traditional steakhouse dining. Alongside an accomplished bar stock, prime meat cuts, fresh fish and wholesome vegetarian dishes make up the simple yet diverse Beefeater menu. Beefeater Grill restaurants pride themselves on sourcing the finest meat cuts and premium seasonal produce. Also renowned for its family-friendly welcome, Beefeater Grill presents a 'Little Eaters' menu, offering a fun range of dishes for children. Evoking a lively ambience and offering a menu filled with favourites, Beefeater restaurants are a consistent crowd pleaser.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Frequent customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What can I say. I have probably visited The Plough over 10 times. Food is great tasting and great quality, the staff are quick and very approachable and the value for money is excellent.

Myself and my partner generally have our usual meals when we go. To start we have prawn cocktails which are served in a bowl on a chopping board with some rustic bread. They, like any other prawn cocktail taste lovely. For our mains I have the mixed grill. The meat on my mixed grill is cooked to perfection, I would definitely recommend it. You also receive bottomless chips. My partner has the full rack of ribs. From what she tells me they are the best ribs in Dover because unlike so many other venues they don't completely cover the ribs and the plate in BBQ sauce. There is always the right amount.
The staff are very welcoming, and being an ex waiter, watching them running around makes me feel like I used to be lazy. They work extremely hard and It really shows in the speedy service and the great attitudes they have.
The food is great value for money where we generally average around £40 - £60 per visit which includes starters, mains and drinks. Its not the best place in the world for a romantic evening as Its always busy but I think that also makes it a nice place to be because there are so many happy customers. Would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    29
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked a table here whilst staying at the Premier Inn next door. The place was very busy - so much so that we didn't even get to our table until half an hour after we had booked. Once shown to our table we were told our waiter would be with us soon - another half hour wait!!!!!! To be fair the food (when it arrived) was very good but the very poor service spoilt the evening. If you want to eat at, say 7pm, I suggest you book a table for 6pm

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited early on Sunday evening, and the place was packed. It has been many years since I have been to a Beefeater, and was very surprised at the variety of choices on the menu. I was even more surprised at the quality of the food.
We were looked after by Katie D who did a magnificent job and wer left knowing that we would return to a Beefeater

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOVER
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Certainly an improvement.............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Took the opportunity to re-visit the Plough Beefeater restaurant. Previous visit(s) were not particularly impressive for both food quality and service.
We timed our visit for early evening, shortly before 6.00pm and were surprised to note the level of business. It was pointed out to us the 'Meal Deal' on offer was proving very popular as the explanation for being so busy. Fair to say that it was clearly 'family time' as children were there in profusion. That said, they all seemed to be reasonably well behaved and relatively quiet.
My wife and I ordered from the main menu, selecting the calamari starter for both of us and the risotto with salmon and old favourite mixed grill for myself. Our order was taken efficiently and interspersed with drinks ordered from the bar. Our starters and main courses were served within reasonable waiting times, particularly in view of the level of business at the time.
All courses were hot, well presented and cooked to perfection. The level of service was much improved from previous visits with staff appearing to really care about customer service.
All things equal this visit was most enjoyable. The service food and drinks were of the highest standard and at reasonable prices. I think our faith in this establishment has been re-instated and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

we had a good stay and reasonable meal here, only found the toilet fan in our room to be very noisy and toilet flush was poor....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Beefeater also viewed

 
Capel-le-Ferne, Kent
 

Been to The Plough Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.