We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks DFDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DFDS Seaways - Day Trips

DFDS Seaways - Day Trips
Eastern Docks, Dover CT16 1JA, England
+44 871 522 9955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 76 things to do in Dover
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DFDS Seaways offers ferries to Holland, France & Denmark, with 6 UK routes from 5 ports, you can open your gateway to Europe & enjoy stunning driving routes across the continent.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thanks DFDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once again we have just travelled out and back Dover - Dunkirk.
A good cost effective way to cross the water !
Can DFDS please sort out the signing at Dunkirk once you leave the main routes, once again we led a convoy of cars that were trying to find the terminal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSSeawaysUK, Online & Social Media Executive at DFDS Seaways - Day Trips, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time onboard with us and hope to see you travelling with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    42
    37
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget Travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Used DFDS for the first time...Dover-Dunkirk. Food poor but prob ok for the many Eastern European truckers being carried. Truckers showers fine (we'd just driven from Spain). DON'T forget to get Euros before you go. We tried on-board change facilities but held off until reaching France...horrendous commission rates. One positive thing...no charge if you have to use the immediately before or after sailing, we were told. Useful touch

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Calais-Dover-Calais”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We normally use the Dunkirk route but this time wanted to try Calais. Disappointing. Not sure but I think the ferries were originally owned by Sea France. Boats dated, dirty, very loud music on boats speakers in the Bar/Cafe area. Crew in Bar/Cafe not very courteous. Food barely eatable. 20 minutes before arrival in port all the toilets were closed for "Servicing".
Dunkirk service much better although the port itself is a disaster.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSSeawaysUK, Online & Social Media Executive at DFDS Seaways - Day Trips, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we have passed this onto the relevant department. If you do wish to contact us in future, you are able to also do so via phone (0871 522 9955), via email (travel.sales@dfds.com) as well as live chat (the link for this can be found on our website). We do hope that you will choose to travel with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dunkirk - Dover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we just returned from (another) trip to the UK to visit my partner's parents. we have focused on the Dunkirk/Dover route since the meltdown of Seafrance and one of the main selling points is the special Lounge available, it comes at a price but ever since we are travelling on this route it has been worth it.
allthough it is kind of annoying that the only way to get embarked/disembarked with priority. I 'm sure especially the costumers who organize themselves to arrive early would appreciate a first come first serve rule. but since my experience with P&O and Seafrance has proven the utter incompetence of, and even refusal of introducing such a scheme by the companies over the past 10 years, we have resorted to this VIP deal offered by DFDS. However, I would like to point out that as we have payed extra for this deal, we also expect it to be kept - which was not the case on our outbound trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSSeawaysUK, Online & Social Media Executive at DFDS Seaways - Day Trips, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our First Class lounge and find it a good way to experience priority embarkation/disembarkation. We do hope to see you onboard with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
1 review
“Poor service for cyclists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

On arrival at the destination, everyone travelling by bicycle has to wait until ALL other vehicles have disembarked. The day we travelled, this meant being forced to wait around in the rain, a wait that was prolonged due to the fact that disembarkation was suspended while an ambulance and a security van came on board and a car broke down on the ramp and had to be towed off! Considering that one cyclist pays the same as a car full of passengers, this is a poor deal. Incidentally, each cyclist requires a separate booking/transaction, making payment much slower. When we requested access to the first class lounge, they sold me one ticket with access and then said that my son could not have access as there were no places left! I then had to squabble with them about getting a refund - what did they think I was going to do, sit in first class while my son sat on the deck?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSSeawaysUK, Online & Social Media Executive at DFDS Seaways - Day Trips, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and if you would like to formalise your comments, then please email customerservices.dover@dfds.com We hope that you would choose to travel with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DFDS Seaways - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to DFDS Seaways - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DFDS Seaways - Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.