We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience under the White Cliffs of Dover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loddington House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Loddington House to your Saves list
Loddington House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 East Cliff | Sea Front, Marine Parade, Dover CT16 1LX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dover
North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Great Experience under the White Cliffs of Dover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was the start of a long planned cruise trip to Norway. The Loddington House was a real find for a place to spend a couple of days. Located under the white cliffs and overlooking the Harbor the views were grand. It is also located in short walking distance from the town center and the Dover Castle. Both of these are worth spending time with. Robert could not have been more helpful. From dinner recommendations to taxi arrangements he satisfied our needs fully. Breakfast at the Loddington matches its other assets. For a continental or a full English breakfast it fills the need in the old style. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: The Gold Room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

A lovely old guest house in great condition with a great host!

We stayed in the "cream room". It was very comfortable, but it was a bit of a climb up. The bathroom was across the hall, but it was our own. Double windows kept the traffic noise out, able to open to enjoy the night air. It was only busy traffic wise in the afternoon for some reason.

Everything was very clean (even the kitchen which wasn't a visitor location but caught a peek of).
Robert was an excellent guest and took very good care of us.

I would very much recommend. Just take a lower room if climbing stairs is an issue.

Room Tip: Front has great view of harbor. Parking is in front, but normal walk in/out in rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was excellent value. We stayed for one night and were well looked after. We thought Dover is under rated, has beautiful cliff walks, castle is amazing and fantastic views of the sea. Would definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed for two nights over a weekend. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend Loddington House to anyone staying in Dover. It is a cute B&B with a beautiful little rose garden, somewhat retro decor and is very accessible, a short 15m walk from the town centre.

Probably a quirk of the architecture, but our room (Cream Room on the top floor) was much warmer than the rest of the house. Surely cosy in winter, but during the hottest October weekend on record the window had to stay open the whole time! Being effectively in the roof, the ceilings were also lower than in the rest of the house.

However, the rooms and toilets were spotless and the bed was comfortable. The reception was friendly and welcoming. We were impressed by the lounge and breakfast was very good. Hard to fault really!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are slightly noisier due to traffic, but are sunny all day and have good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed for one night before our cruise in early August, 2011.We received a very warm welcome by host, Robert, who helped take our heavy luggage up the stairs. He was very helpful with local restaurant recommendations and sights to see. We were in a nice room at the front and despite the typical English weather, the view was great. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. We would highly recommend this B&B. It is good value and a very friendly reception. Liz and Alan from Scottsdale

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here two days prior to a cruise. As noted by previous reviewers, Robert, the owner makes this place. He's your reservationist, greeter, porter, concierge and waiter, and you're his most important guest. The hotel is a nicely maintained 1800's row house right on the Channel waterfront with Dover Castle directly behind. The public areas retain their historic features, with a pretty dining room on the ground floor and a comfortable lounge on the 1st floor overlooking the sea. The bedrooms are plain, but impeccably clean as is the rest of the house. We enjoyed walking along the sea wall above the pebble beach, which connects to the downtown pedestrian area, restaurants and shops. You'll get your aerobic exercise walking up to Dover Castle for some nice views and history, and its only a short walk to the ferry terminal and a short cab ride to the cruise terminal. We'd go again in a minute...a great value!

Room Tip: Rooms in front overlook the sea and 4 lane road that services ferry port. Quieter in back, but view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed there on our way on the way to a HA cruise in August. Location was great as is close to down town and Dover Castle. Our bedroom window looked out onto the wartime caves so was quieter than if we were in the front with the traffic. Robert was a great host with lots of info on where to go in Dover, and the day of our cruise while waiting for taxi pick up I got an email that had 12 pages that needed printing and he helped me out no questions asked. Thanks Rob. The only minor thing was in the Pink Room the bed was a little saggy in the middle which gave me a sore back (I have back issues so beds are important to me), other than that great place and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loddington House

Address: 14 East Cliff | Sea Front, Marine Parade, Dover CT16 1LX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loddington House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Loddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loddington Hotel Dover
Loddington House Dover, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loddington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.