We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay before catching the ferry.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Alma to your Saves list
Hostel Alma
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay before catching the ferry.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm a bit supprised at the low score this place has. While it's nothing special, it does offer a cheap place to sleep before catching the boat in the morning, which I imagine is the point. It's not fancy, but our room was spacious enough for 3 of us, with free wifi and a clean bathroom. It's also easy to find when coming off the motorway, but parking can be an issue. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a week, but I wouldn't imagine anybody would be thinking of doing that. If you're just after a cheap place to stay for the night before a catching the ferry, then there is nothing wrong with Hostel Alma.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    12
    4
    28
See reviews for
7
21
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our room was small but had everything we needed,central heating was on and the bed was very comfy and clean as was the towels,bathroom was small but modern and clean with heated towel rail.The kitchen was open all night with free tea and coffee and microwave cutlery etc. The stairs are very narrow and not really suitable for anyone with a disability.We had to leave early and thought breakfast started at 7 but the owner said it is 8 at weeekend,he offered to get up early and he made toast tea cereal and yoghurt,he was very helpful and chatty and went out of his way to help.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Reviews on Trip Advisor make this place sound much worse than it was for us. Our room was very clean and well-appointed, if small (although it did smell a bit of wet carpet). The rooms aren't very soundproof, either from traffic noise or from other guests in the hallway. The owner was friendly to us, although he can seem a bit brusque (we think he might be Russian, and brusqueness is not rudeness from them). A large English breakfast is provided, which is tasty enough. You could probably find better value elsewhere though.

Room Tip: We got the family room as it was the last available. It had beds for 3 people, a large TV and a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

It appears from other reviews that we got away quite lightly, but the Hostel Alma is still a very cheap and not very pleasant place to stay. We paid £45 for an one night stay before our early ferry the following day, and apart from the owner wanting a 3% surcharge for using a credit card (to be fair, he retracted this charge as we were leaving too early to have breakfast), and the key numbers worked OK for both the main door and the room door. The rooms are tiny and the washing faclities extremely "cramped", but the room was clean with a working TV with many channels, and the bed was comfortable. The real downside to this room was the noise from the street which made sleeping difficult, and a nagging worry that we would be hard put to get out of the place in the event of a fire - the only staircase to the 2nd floor is very narrow and likely to disintegrate before the rest of the building. Also, this is not in a very salubrious area; our car was keyed down the side overnight...

Room Tip: I'd look for somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

the owner was very aggressive and the hostel was closed when I arrived even though the supposed "cafe" had an open sign. Facilities ok but I did not feel safe withsuch a loud and rude manager

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Seems to be a bit of a pattern here. I turned up at the "cafe" which had an "opn" sign only to be told that I had no right to be there. Owner very rude and screamed at me. Didn't go back of course but he still debited my credit card. Place was filthy and messy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I emailed owner to say I would arrive a bit early, and his brochure said he had a "cafe' which was in fact a filthy storeroom. When I enquired politely about when I could get to the room he stood 6 inces from my face and screamed at me to get out. I am 60 years old 5 feet tall but no shrinking violet. he then pushed me. I went to the police - case still open - nad he still charged my credit card. the guy id a mad man - I agree with the last review - avoid at all costs

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alma

Address: 37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alma Dover, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.