We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover Waterfront, Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Dover
Thornton Heath
1 review
“Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have just returned from a few nights at the Dover Marina Hotel. Check in was a quick process, and the foyer was well presented. I booked a family room with sea views. The views were great, on the Saturday morning we saw a large cruise liner arrive. Then later the sea filled with smaller boats and yachts. The breakfast was lovely, and all dietary needs were catered for, and it was a buffet. The meal times were very good, breakfast between 6:30 and 10:30am. The staff were very helpfull and attentive. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Jon,Lorraine,Mona-Lisa & Melissa.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Although you may need to pay an extra £20, it definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    177
    89
    43
    20
See reviews for
86
203
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stay at this hotel when visiting family and it has had a few parades over the years but still retains a quaint charm that we really love. Good rates are available for b&b , we usually eat breakfast out but the one they serve is fine, if a little expensive. Staff are helpful and the views are great. The seafront is re done and is great for a nice walk on the flat or a more challenging walk up on the cliffs -fantastic-and no tat anywhere!!

Room Tip: Always asks for sea view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I arrived at the Dover marina hotel at around 8pm.the first thing we noticed was how friendly and attentive the check in clerk was. Sheexplained to us what was availible at the hotel from massages to beauty treatments, from a la carte meals to bar snacks and room service meals. She directed us to our room.

On entry to our room we were blown away, the view from our rather large sea view window was amazing. We got to see the entire harbour and light house. Alas to say my son loved sitting there watching the ferries. The bed was clean with the matteress having a very soft mattress topper protecting the mattress. Tea and coffee was availible so we didnt have to contact room services a lot for hot drinks... but when we did im surprised at how cheap the room service was! The batheroom was clean and in good condition. The hotel was so attentive to our needs that a fan was provided forthe hot nights and hairdryers, laptop internet connections, bathmats and try holders were also provided for our comfort.

In the evening we ordered a pub style meal. The meat was cooked to our taste, the service was brilliant and again the staff were attentive to our needs... supplying an extra table for our wine with our dinner. I must also say the portions of the meal were spot on. Not too little but not to much. You felt comfortable after eating and not too full its uncomfortable. Breakfast in the morning is of buffet style and the cooked breakfast options are vast. Again the food is cooked to perfection and the ingrediants are of high quality.. hardly any grease from the cooked breakfast.

We stayed for two days and there was only ever one little gripe. The lift is on the small side and its very slow. Other then that I would reccomend this hotel to couples, families and business users alike. We loved this hotel so much we are looking to go again soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Only stayed one night to break up our trip from france to our home, and i must say the location is excellent, even better if you get a sea view. It isn't the best hotel i have ever stayed in, but i would be more than happy to use it again if coming to or passing through dover. Good sized rooms for what we were paying in my opinion. We had the breakfast buffet, which set us up nicely for the final leg of out journey home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for one night, but would have loved to stay longer.
The hotel is right on the seafront overlooking the marina, and has a free car park behind the hotel.
Our room was on the first floor it was a little dark as there was only a glass door and no window. We had a balcony overlooking the marina. The room was not very large but ample for our needs, and the bed very comfortable. There was a free standing fan in the room, which was useful as it was quite warm. Tea and coffee making facilities were supplied, as were towels. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which had a bath with shower over.
We dined in the hotel restaurant and found the food to be really good, nice and hot and very well presented, extremely tasty.
Breakfast was buffet style, and there was plenty to chose from both hot and cold.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a balcony overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambye
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had booked the second of our two nights directly with the hotel but the first night was showing full on the hotel site but available on one of the many "hotel booking sites" and so we booked that way much to the amazement of the Reception Manager with whom we were having a telephone conversation at the time!

We arrived at the hotel and registered but did not view the allocated room until after a wedding rehearsal locally. Arriving back at the hotel we took the tiny lift with much baggage up to the fourth floor and to Room 410. The room was tiny and not much bigger than the bed. So it was back in the lift and back down to reception where my wife told the very helpful receptionist that it was simply impossible to fit her bags, herself and husband into Room 410! Without any problem we were moved to 216, a sea view room, which was a little bigger. Interestingly what both rooms had in common was the broken wardrobe doors.

The best part of the experience was that the staff were extemely helpful but the hotel management needs to grip the chaotic room allocation. The loft rooms, due to the lack of space, are not comparable to the rooms below and a price differential should reflect that.

Room Tip: The lower the floor, the bigger the room, and the less time you have to spend queueing for the tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Prior to boarding our Baltic cruise, we booked a night at this hotel, sight unseen!
It is an older hotel, but right on the ocean. There is a lovely boardwalk in front of the hotel.
The Dover Castle sits high above. The town is easy walking distance from the hotel with shops, banks and restaurants. Breakfast buffet was very good with a nice variety to choose from. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but the view made it pleasant and we only spent one night. Only drawback was a very slow and very small elevator!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Dover Waterfront, Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.